Delhi Capitals Have Created A Unique Record In IPL 2020

Delhi Capitals Creates A Unique Record: The Delhi-based franchise has been a part of the Indian Premier League (IPL) since the tournament’s inception. Initially, the franchise was called the Delhi Daredevils. However, the owners decided to revamp the team and rename it as the Delhi Capitals in IPL 2019. The change of name proved to be a good move for the team as they have qualified for the playoffs for the second consecutive season.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

This year, Delhi Capitals had begun their campaign with some fantastic performances in the first half. However, they lost their path in the next few games and had to win their last league match against the Royal Challengers Bangalore to cement their place in the Top 2 of the standings. The fans expected them to finish at the top of the points table looking at their performances in the first eight-nine matches. However, finishing at number two has helped the Capitals achieve a rare feat in the IPL.

By attaining the second rank on the points table of IPL 2020, Delhi Capitals has become the only one in the IPL to finish at ten different ranks on the final standings. They finished fourth in the inaugural IPL season, losing to the table-toppers Rajasthan Royals in the semifinals.

In 2009, the Delhi Daredevils topped the standings and they attained the same rank in 2012 as well. Unfortunately, the Deccan Chargers beat them in 2009’s semifinal round, while Delhi lost to the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Chennai Super Kings in the two qualifying matches of the 2012 playoffs. They finished fifth in the 2010 season, and they had their worst season in 2011 as they became the first team in IPL history to finish at the 10th rank.

In 2013, Delhi Capitals took the wooden spoon again by ending their campaign at the ninth position. They were stuck in the middle muddle during the next four seasons, finishing at 8th, 7th, 6th, and 6th positions in 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017, respectively. Delhi has never made it to the IPL final and they will try to end their title jinx in 2020.

ALSO READ: Who Is Tushar Deshpande And How He Made His IPL Debut For Delhi?

Related Articles

Back to top button