IPL 2020

Meet The Highest Paid Commentators Of IPL 2020

IPL 2020: Commentators are an extremely crucial part of a sport, painting an overwhelming picture for everyone that helps the viewers to get a grip on an alternate reality, a dimension crafted on the mere premise of words. Without the analysis and the story-telling by the ones cooped up in a commentary box, the game will not be any fun, especially in an era of doom and gloom where the stands gape like a copious precipice without the trace of any life form in them and the hallowed tunnels have turned themselves into mere alleyways smeared in moss and darkness.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

Now, given the fact, that the Indian Premier League is known for always resorting to the best, their commentary panel is highly glittering and it promises star-studded panoply that boasts the likes of the best in the world. In order to lure in the best of the sport, an integral factor that plays at large is the amount of money that the management is willing to shell out. It is not just cricketers who earn a fortune by staking their lives on the line, but commentators also get handsomely rewarded for their efforts in drawing a picture which is extremely overwhelming and emotional in nature.

The following chart paints the picture of the commentators along with the language that he will be a part of and also the amount that will be shelled out to them to ensure that it rains words in UAE.

Harsha Bhogle $500,000 English 2020
Simon Doull $350,000 English 2020
Ian Bishop $500,000 English 2020
Michael Slater $500,000 English 2020
Danny Morrison $350,000 English 2020
Deep Dasgupta $250,000 English 2020
Rohan Gavaskar $250,000 English 2020
Pommie Mbangwa $250,000 English 2020
Darren Ganga $250,000 English 2020
L Sivaramakrishnan $250,000 English 2020
Murali Kartik $250,000 English 2020
Sunil Gavaskar $500,000 English 2020
Kevin Pietersen $500,000 English 2020
Anjum Chopra $250,000 English 2020
Lisa Sthalekar $250,000 English 2020
Mark Nicholas $500,000 English 2020
Kumar Sangakkara $500,000 English 2020
JP Duminy $250,000 English 2020
Aakash Chopra $350,000 Hindi 2020
Irfan Pathan $200,000 Hindi 2020
Gautam Gambhir $200,000 Hindi 2020
Ashish Nehra $200,000 Hindi 2020
Nikhil Chopra $80,000 Hindi 2020
Sandeep Patil $80,000 Hindi 2020
Sanjay Bangar $80,000 Hindi 2020
Ajit Agarkar $200,000 Hindi 2020
Kiran More $200,000 Hindi 2020


Harsha Bhogle, Kevin Pietersen, Sunil Gavaskar, Ian Bishop, Michael Slater and Kumar Sangakkara are the regulars in IPL’s English commentary panel and their earnings vary between $250-500K in an IPL season. Going by wild reports, Aakash Chopra bagged himself a sum of Rs 6 lakhs for every match in 2019. However, this year he is all set to earn himself a whopping amount of $350K.

Harsha Bhogle has transcended himself to the elite panel of commentators not only in India but he is also venerated massively throughout the world. His articulation and throw of words fascinate everyone listening to him which gets laced with a brilliant accent and a priceless personality. He has a base price of $5,00,000 which easily sets him on the podium of commentators, ruling the roost in his own sweet way.

Bhogle also received tough competition from Mark Nicholas, Kumara Sangakkara, Kevin Pietersen, Sunil Gavaskar, Ian Bishop and Michael Slater. The legacy left behind these commentators have been beyond extraordinary and the singularity that each of the possesses is nothing short of wondrous. From a jaffa that can rattle your timbre to an exquisite stroke carved by the batsman to hurl into the stands, they never run short of words.

Related Articles

Back to top button