Twitter Erupts After Ajinkya Rahane Scored A Blistering Century On Day2

The stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane completed his 12th Test century on Day 2 of the 2nd Test match against Australia. After bundling-up the Australians for just 195 runs on Day 1 of the Boxing Day Test match, Ajinkya Rahane walked in at number 4 with all guns blazing and took the game by storm.

Having lost both the openers Mayank Agarwal and Shubman Gill and Cheteshwar Pujara, there was a lot of pressure on Rahane’s shoulders, however, he soaked in all the pressure and played a terrific knock.

He formed a decent partnership with Hanuma Vihari (21 off 66 balls) and then with Rishabh Pant(29 off 40 balls). Ajinkya Rahane completed his maiden half-century in Test as a skipper with a stunning boundary down the leg-side. This was also Rahane’s 23rd half-century in his Test career.

Rishabh Pant was dismissed by Starc before the tea break, however, after the tea break, Ajinkya Rahane continued with his brilliance and took the Indian cricket team past Australia’s first-innings total of 195 runs and take a lead in the game along with Ravindra Jadeja. He completed his century off 195 balls, smashing 12 fours.

Rahane alongwith Ravindra Jadeja led team India went past Australia’s first innings total to take the lead after the game resumed on the final season of Day 2 after a slight delay due to rain. Team India is now having a hefty lead in the ongoing game as they have cruised to an 82-run lead over Australia with Rahane and Jadeja taking the charge.

Meanwhile, social media was flooded with amazing reactions from the netizens. From fans to cricketers and cricket experts, everyone is lauding the amazing performance by Ajinkya Rahane.

Here, check out the reactions of Twitterati on this:


Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button