A controversy erupted on the first ODI match between Sri Lanka and West Indies at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua. Sri Lankan batsman Danushka Gunathilaka received a rare obstructing field dismissal.
Gunathilaka was playing brilliantly in the first innings as Sri Lanka looked set for a commanding total after coming out to bat first. Gunathilaka had made a fluent 55 runs when he defended a delivery by Pollard.
It was in the 21st over of the game when Gunathilaka trod on the ball while Pollard was attempting to affect a runout. He moved a few steps forward before asking his batting partner to go back and returning to the crease himself. As he did so, he stepped on the ball and knocked it backward.
Pollard took no time and appealed immediately and the on-field umpire Joe Wilson gave a signal of out before television umpire Nigel Guguid ruled that Gunathilaka had deliberately attempted to foil the runout.
However, now Danushka Gunthilaka had revealed that Kieron Pollard came to him after the match and apologized to him for his obstructing the field appeal. Gunathilaka revealed that Pollard came up to him after West Indies thrashed them in the 1st ODI and said that he realized only watching the videos that Gunathilaka didn’t do anything. He revealed:
“He apologized, he told me he didn’t see that properly at that time & only after he saw the video he realised I didn’t do anything”
West Indies Cricket too shared photos of Pollard and Gunathilaka having a good time with each other after the match. Here, check out the Tweet:
— Windies Cricket (@windiescricket) March 10, 2021