Who Is IPL’s Greatest Captain Between Rohit And Dhoni? Sunil Gavaskar Has The Answer

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians led by MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma, respectively, are two of the most successful IPL teams. While Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians have won the IPL trophy 5 times, on the other hand, MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings have won the trophy thrice. Rohit Sharma’s captaincy style has always been compared with the style of MS Dhoni.

When it comes to IPL, there has always been a debate going on about who is the best skipper among Rohit and Dhoni.  Recently, while talking on a show on Star Sports, legendary Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar picked his all-time favorite IPL skipper as he named his all-time IPL XI.

While Gavaskar picked Rohit Sharma as the opening batsman of his team, he went for explosive hitter Chris Gayle as Rohit’s opening partner. The opening duo was followed by David Warner and Virat Kohli at number 3 and 4 positions respectively. Both the batsmen are known for their consistency.

Gavaskar named CSK’s all-time leading run-scorer Suresh Raina for the 5th position. Raina was followed by Proteas’ superstar AB de Villiers at number 6.

Interestingly, for the position of captaincy in his team, Gavaskar picked legendary Indian skipper, MS Dhoni, for number 7th position as the wicket-keeper batsman and the captain of the side. He also named two spin all-rounders in his team namely – Ravindra Jadeja and Sunil Narine.

To lead the pace attack in his team, Gavaskar picked sensational Indian bowlers Jasprit Bumrahh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. For the position of 12th man in his team, Gavaskar picked legendary wicket-taker Lasith Malinga, who has been the leading wicket-taker in IPL history.

After naming his team, Gavaskar concluded by saying:  “I’m sorry if I missed out any players, I’ve never been a selector in my life and I now understand how hard it is to pick a team,”

Sunil Gavaskar’s all-time IPL XI: Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Sunil Narine, Bhuveshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga (12th man)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top