BCCI Announced Squad For Sri Lanka Series, This Cricketer To Lead The Series

BCCI Announced Squad For Sri Lanka Series, This Cricketer To Lead The Series: Virat Kohli and co. are all set to lock their horns against the Kane Williamson-led New Zealand in the much-awaited edition of the World Test Championship Final, which will kickstart from June 18 in Southampton. The team will further play against England in the five-match Test series.

Now with Virat Kohli and Co. playing against a five-match Test series against England in July, the BCCI has named a second-string squad to travel to Sri Lanks for the upcoming limited-overs series in July.

On Thursday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India’s squad for the upcoming limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka in July. And interestingly, India’s star opener Shikhar Dhawan has been named as the skipper of the Indian side in the absence of the likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, as they will be busy in the upcoming five-match Test series at that time.

While Dhawan will be leading the team, on the other hand, experienced pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be his deputy on the tour. BCCI has handed maiden call-ups to five players – Nitish Rana, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Chetan Sakariya, K Gowtham, and Devdutt Padikkal, who have all impressed each and all with their terrific performances in the Indian Premier League for their respective teams.

Besides these youngsters who will be making their debut for team India, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Manish Pandey are the senior members of the squad. Meanwhile, Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson will be competing for the wicket-keeping spot.

India’s squad for SL tour (ODIs and T20Is): Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top