5 Lowest Scores By Teams In The History Of IPL

The Indian Premier League has been entertaining cricket fans around the world for the past 13 years. Over all these years, the fans have witnessed some insane and unforgettable power-hitting performances from franchises in IPL. However, the league also records some horrible batting collapses over the years. There have been times when franchises have lost the plot while aiming for the big scores.

Here, in this article, we bring you 5 lowest scores in IPL history, have a look:

5. Kolkata Knight Riders’ 67 vs Mumbai Indians, 2008:

Top 5 lowest team totals in IPL history

Kolkata Knight Riders had a forgettable ‘first’ season in 2008, for many reasons. One of the major reasons was their loss at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, where Kolkata Knight Riders scored one of the lowest scores in the IPL history.

Mumbai captain Sachin Tendulkar won the toss and opted to bowl first. Coming out to bat first, KKR failed to get momentum throughout their knock and kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Chasing the low target of 67 runs, Mumbai Indians took just 5.3 overs to knock off the total. Also, Sanath Jayasuriya played a stunning knock of 48 runs off 17 balls to help his team win the match.

4. Delhi Daredevils’ 67 vs Kings XI Punjab, 2017:

Punjab Kings v Delhi Capitals | Match 36, IPL 2017 Match Centre |

Delhi Capitals (earlier Delhi Daredevils) is doing great in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League and are currently sitting at the top of the points table. However, they have seen some really tough seasons in the IPL, one of those seasons being 2017, where they scored one of the lowest scores in the IPL history.

Well, in a match against Kings XI Punjab, Delhi batters struggled to get a start as KXIP’s bowler Sandeep Sharma gave nightmares to DD’s batsmen. He bowled 4 overs, where he gave away only 20 runs and picked up 4 crucial wickets. He along with other bowlers didn’t let Delhi batsmen get momentum throughout their innings.

As a result, Delhi Daredevils was bowled out after scoring only 67 runs. Later, while chasing the total of 68 runs, Punjab’s openers Hashim Amla and Martin Guptill gave a stunning performance and won the match by 10 wickets.

3. Delhi Daredevils’ 66 vs Mumbai Indians, 2017:

Mumbai Indians: IPL 2017 : Mumbai Indians thrash Delhi Daredevils by 146  runs, qualify for playoffs

The 2017 edition of IPL was surely a tough season for Delhi Daredevils. After incurring an embarrassing loss against Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils suffered yet another humiliating defeat and this time by the hands of Mumbai Indians. This time Delhi was asked to bowl first and Mumbai Indians made sure to score a huge target for Delhi Daredevils.

Riding on Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard’s stunning knocks, Mumbai posted a huge total of 212 runs for Delhi. However, Delhi failed miserably to chase the target. In only a week’s time, with mostly the same players, Delhi scored yet another lowest score. They were bowled out for 66 runs.

2. Rajasthan Royals’ 58 vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2009:

After winning the inaugural edition in 2008, Rajasthan Royals had started the 2009 season in the most bizarre way. Kevin Pietersen led Royal Challengers Bangalore couldn’t post a huge total on the scoreboard. However, what followed was completely unexpected as Rajasthan Royals were bowled out for just 58 runs. They recorded the lowest ever total in the league, until 2017 when this record was broken by Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore.

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore’s 49 vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 2017:

This match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders, 2017 has to be one of the most bizarre games in IPL history. Chasing a total of 131 runs, RCB failed miserably. KKR’s trio of Woakes, Coulter-Nile and de Grandhomme took three wickets each while Yadav got one wicket. In an embarrassing show, none of the power-hitting batsmen of RCB  managed a double-digit score and they were bowled out for just 49 runs.

RCB still holds the record for the lowest ever score in IPL history. Interestingly, RCB also holds the record of the highest ever score in IPL.

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button