Babar Azam Announced 12 Member Squad Against India, Excludes Sarfaraz Ahmed

Babar Azam Announced 12 Member Squad Against India: India vs Pakistan — the mother of all rivalries is all set for another thrilling encounter. Fans from both countries are waiting eagerly for the Sunday evening blockbuster as the two teams face off in the T20 World Cup Group 2 clash in Dubai.

Ahead of the high-voltage clash between the two countries, Pakistan’s skipper Babar Azam announced the squad in a press conference on Saturday in a press conference. While the squad included senior players — Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez, on the other hand, Sarfaraz Ahmed was excluded from the squad.

Fakhar Zaman and Haider Ali, who were not included in Pakistan’s World Cup squad initially, were also named in the 12-men squad. Earlier Fakhar was among the reserve players but he replaced Khusdil Shah, while Haider Ali got into the squad replacing Mohammad Hasnain.

Shaheen Afridi will be seen leading the bowling attack of the Pakistan cricket team and will get support from Hasan Ali and Haris Rauf as co-pacers.

Pakistan’s 12-member squad against India: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Hasan Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

During the press conference, Babar Azam also vowed that his team would not think about the past record of Pakistan against India. He said: “To be honest, what has passed is beyond us,”

He added: “We want to use our ability and confidence on the day of the match so that we can get a better result. Records are meant to be broken.”

Meanwhile, the Indian skipper, Virat Kohli, however, didn’t announce his team for the blockbuster clash. He said that the Pakistan team was strong and had always been a strong team. He said: “We will have to play our best cricket to beat Pakistan,”


Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button