10 Tweets That Prove Fans Are Very Angry With Shreyas Iyer’s Exclusion

The Indian captain Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat first, as the first match between India and South Africa kickstarted at the SuperSport Park in Centurion. However, what has left everyone disappointed is the fact that the Indian team management has decided to back veteran Ajinkya Rahane, despite his poor form, ahead of young Shreyas Iyer

Rahane has been struggling to perform with the bat for a while now. He has scored only 411 runs off 12 Tests he has played so far at an average of 19.57. Rahane’s consistency and average even raised questions on his place in the Indian playing XI. On the other hand, Shreyas Iyer impressed one and all with his solid debut against New Zealand in the Kanpur Test.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

India vs New Zealand, 1st Test: Shreyas Iyer Becomes First Indian To Hit  Century And Fifty On Test Debut On Day 4 In Kanpur. Here's How The World  Reacted | Cricket News

Shreyas Iyer smashed an impressive century in the first innings of his first-ever Test match for team India to help them win the series. He continued with his red-hot form as he smashed a half-century in the second innings. Considering his recent performances, everyone was expecting Iyer’s name in the Indian playing XI, however, to everyone’s dismay the Indian team management decided to back their senior batsmen.

Meanwhile, fans on social media, who were expecting Shreyas Iyer in the playing XI, were left disappointed with his exclusion from the squad. From cricketers, pundits to fans, several people took to Twitter and expressed their disappointment on the same.

Here, check out the reactions of angry Indian fans:


India (Playing XI): KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

South Africa (Playing XI): Dean Elgar(c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock(w), Wiaan Mulder, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi

Also Read: Ravi Shastri Suggests Two Future Captaincy Options For Team India

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button