James Neesham Trolled Third Umpire After Ben Stokes’ No-Ball Controversy

James Neesham Trolled Third Umpire After Ben Stokes’ No-Ball Controversy: England’s star all-rounder, Ben Stokes was indulged in a controversy on Day 2 of the ongoing first Ashes Test between Australia and England at the Gabba on Thursday. Stokes was denied a crucial wicket of David Warner, who was batting on 17 at that time as it was a no-ball.

It soon transpired that Stokes had overstepped each of the previous three deliveries as well, but none of them were called out. Things got even worse when Australia’s Channel 7 highlighted that Stokes had bowled a total of 14 no-balls in the opening session of the game, out of which only 2 were called out by the umpires.

Ben Stokes

Stokes’ mistake turned out to be a loss for the side as Warner went on to smash 94 runs helping his team reach 343/7, gaining a strong 196-run lead at the end of Day 2.

Meanwhile, several former and current cricketers came out and criticized the umpires. Among many, New Zealand all-rounder James Neesham, who is known for his witty Tweets and outspoken nature, also took to his Twitter and has reacted to the controversy.

Quoting a compilation video of Ben Stokes’ 14 no-balls, Jimmy Neesham took a hilarious dig at the third umpire. He wrote:

“When the only explanation is “uhhhh I forgot that was my job lol””

Here, check out the Tweet:

It was later revealed by Cricket Australia that the incident took place due to a technological fault as the third-umpire, Paul Wilson, couldn’t review ball-by-ball TV replays to check if bowlers were over-stepping the crease, leaving it to the on-field umpires to make the calls.

Also Read: Ricky Ponting Slammed Third Umpire For Ignoring No-Balls Bowled By Ben Stokes

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button