Here’s Everything You Need To Know About Legends League Cricket 2022

A new T20 cricket league by the name of ‘Legends League Cricket’ is set to kickstart on Thursday at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Oman.

Several former international cricketers, including those from India, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, and England will participate in this tournament. A total of three teams, namely India Maharajas, Asia Lions, and World Giants, will compete in 6 group matches before the final between the top two sides takes place on January 29.

The Indian Maharajas will comprise players from India. The likes of Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan among many others will be back in action.

The Asia Lions will include former greats from the Asian region excluding India, while the World Giants will be represented by legends of all the continents except Asia.


Former India head coach Ravi Shastri has been roped in as the Commissioner of this league. Shastri was present and met the players ahead of the opening game on Thursday night.

A total of 9 Pakistani players will be featuring for Asia Lions; the iconic names include Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar, and Mohammad Yousuf. Former captains Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, and Mohammad Hafeez will also be participating alongside Kamran Akmal, Umar Gul, and Azhar Mahmood.

Legends League Cricket Squads:

Indian Maharajas

Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia, and Amit Bhandari.

Asia Lions

Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kamran Akmal, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, and Asghar Afghan.

World Giants

Daren Sammy, Daniel Vettori, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Kevin Pietersen, Imran Tahir, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Corey Anderson, Monty Panesar, Brad Haddin, Kevin O’Brien, and Brendan Taylor.

Legends League Cricket Schedule:

January 20, 2022: India Maharajas vs Asia Lions, 8 PM

January 21, 2022: World Giants vs Asia Lions, 8 PM

January 22, 2022: World Giants vs India Maharajas, 8 PM

January 24, 2022: Asia Lions vs India Maharajas, 8 PM

January 26, 2022: India Maharajas vs World Giants, 8 PM

January 27, 2022: Asia Lions vs World Giants, 8 PM

January 29, 2022: Final, 8 PM

Also Read: Dale Steyn Revealed The Biggest Reason Why Virat Kohli Resigned

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button