ICC includes Three Indians In The Test Team Of The Year

The International Cricket Council (ICC)), on Thursday, named Men’s Test Team of the year, recognizing 11 outstanding individuals, who impressed everyone with their performances – be it with the bat, the ball, or their all-around performance in a calender year.

For the opening position, ICC named Sri Lankan skipper Dimuth Karunaratne along with India’s white-ball captain, Rohit Sharma.

While the Sri Lankan skipper consistently got his team off to solid starts throughout the year. He scored 902 runs in 7 matches at an average of 69.38 with four centuries. On the other hand, Rohit Sharma played some memorable knocks during the calendar year. He scored 906 runs in the calendar year at an average of 47.68 with two centuries.

At number 3, ICC picked Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne, who had a memorable 2021 who continues to score runs in bulk, while cementing his position as Australia’s no.3. He scored 526 runs at an average of 65.75 with two centuries.

He was followed by England’s skipper Joe Root. Though, the team struggled his team struggled in the longest format of the game, however, he gave brilliant performances throughout the year. He scored 1708 runs in 15 matches at an average of 61, including 6 centuries.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson was named the captain of ICC Test Team Of The Year. He scored 395 runs in 4 matches at an average of 65.83 with one century. Williamson was followed by Fawad Alam, who was at his sturdy best in 2021, scoring 571 runs in 9 matches at an average of 57.10 with three tons.

Rishabh Pant was named as the wicketkeeper-batter in this list. In 2021, he scored 748 runs in 12 matches at an average of 39.36 with one memorable ton.

In the bowling line-up, Ravi Ashwin (54 wickets), Kyle Jamieson (27 wickets), Hasan Ali (41 wickets), and Shaheen Afridi (47 wickets).


ICC Men’s Test Team Of The Year:

Dimuth Karunaratne, Rohit Sharma, Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Root, Kane Williamson (C), Fawad Alam, Rishabh Pant (WK), R Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi

Also Read: Here’s Why Sachin Tendulkar Not Participate In The Roads Safety World Series

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button