IPLIPL 2022PlayersStats

5 IPL Records That Will Remain Unbroken For Many Years

These IPL records look unbreakable.

Unbreakable IPL Records: The IPL is no more taking just baby steps. It’s into its 15th year and has now expanded to a 10-team tournament with a longer vision.

Over the years, teams and players have set some incredible records on the field with their expertise. Although, according to the saying ‘records are meant to be broken,’ some of those may not get broken for the many years to come in the IPL.

Here are 5 IPL records that are almost unbreakable:

Chris Gayle’s highest individual score – 175

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle, arguably the greatest T20 batter of all time, unleashed his wrath on the hapless Pune Warriors bowlers in a game in 2013 on the flat pitch of the tiny-sized M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Gayle smashed the fastest T20 century off 30 balls en route to his epic onslaught of 175 unbeaten runs from just 66 – the highest individual score in a T20 game. His knock contained 17 sixes – the most in an IPL innings by a batsman – and 13 fours. This is one of those IPL records that look unbreakable.

Also, after Gayle’s destruction, AB de Villiers played a thunderous cameo of 31 runs off 8 balls, taking RCB to a total of 263 – which is still the highest innings total in the league.

These records are unlikely to be broken in the league considering that bowlers and bowling captains now have multiple plans and strategies going into a game, and bowlers have been able to use their variations smartly.

Chris Gayle most sixes in the IPL- 357

Chris Gayle

Amongst the many T20 batting records Chris Gayle holds, this one is unlikely to be broken in the coming years. Gayle has walloped a stunning 357 sixes in 141 IPL innings; the next best is the retired AB de Villiers who is a mile behind Gayle with 251 sixes in 170 innings.

Rohit Sharma, with 227 sixes in 208 innings, is third; Sharma is in the last phase of his career and would have to bat uncharacteristically aggressive to reach near Gayle’s tally.

Virat Kohli’s most runs in a single season – 973 runs in 2016

Virat Kohli

The then RCB skipper Virat Kohli batted in a god-mode in the 2016 season. At the peak of his powers, Kohli slammed 4 centuries and 7 fifties that season whilst amassing 973 runs, missing the dreamy 1000-run mark by a small margin. He led RCB till the final, however, they lost the final to SRH.

The second-best season for a batsman has been in 2016 itself, with David Warner scoring 848 runs, still a distance behind Kohli. Kohli’s 4 tons in 2016 is also the record for most hundreds in a single season – another record unlikely to be surpassed. This is one of those IPL records that will need a Herculean effort to break.

MS Dhoni most number of IPL finals as captain – 9

MS Dhoni, CSK

MS Dhoni has been the name and face of the Chennai Super Kings since the first season. Having led the franchise in all their 12 seasons – CSK was banned for two years – Dhoni won them 4 IPL titles, while they lost 5 other finals. Only once – in 2020- has CSK failed to reach the playoffs/semi-finals.

The consistency of Dhoni in leading CSK to the playoffs and finals has been commendable. They won the title last season, and Dhoni will be leading them again in 2022, perhaps for one last season. This is one of those IPL records that might never get broken. Thala all the way!

KKR longest winning streak of 10 matches


Gautam Gambhir’s Kolkata Knight Riders is one of the most dominating teams in T20 cricket with two IPL titles and a Champions League final appearance.

During 2014-15, KKR won 10 games in a row to register the longest winning streak by any team in the IPL. In 2014, after having won only 2 of their first 7 games, KKR conjured up a miraculous run of 9 wins including the final. They started the 2015 season with a victory and took their streak to 10 matches, before losing their second game and that ended their streak.

With all teams now evenly strong, it’s difficult for any side to have such a long sustained winning streak.

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button