IPL 2022: Here’s Why This Indian Cricket Fan Wants IPL To Ban New Zealand Players

A new controversy is taking place on social media as a section of fans are demanding that New Zealand players not be allowed to play in the upcoming IPL 2022, the 15the edition of the biggest cricket league in the world.

But why do some Indian cricket fans don’t want the Kiwi players to play in the IPL? Why are they against Kane Williamson, the Kiwi skipper, to turn up for the mega-event and lead SRH; against Trent Boult displaying his world-class swing bowling for RR; against Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner waring CSK’s yellow; or against James Neesham smashing some sixes for RR?

Here’s the reason why a section of Indian cricket fans want the government and the BCCI to cancel the contracts of New Zealand players:

A Twitter user named Varun Sharma, with Twitter handle @LogicalHindu_, recently raised an objection to the Kiwi players participating in the IPL 2022. He felt that since the movie ‘Kashmir Files’ has not been released in New Zealand, the Indian government and the BCCI should also not allow the New Zealand players to ply their trade in the IPL.

“Since #KashmirFiles is being arbitrarily banned in New Zealand. India should ban New Zealand players in IPL. These countries should feel pinch of salt. It can’t be easy for them,” the fan tweeted while also tagging BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah.

Many fans also agreed with this view.

The move ‘The Kashmir Files’ has gone on to become a storm at the box office having already crossed 100 crore grossing. While the movie was released in several countries worldwide including Australia, America, it hasn’t been put up in the theatres in New Zealand.

The director of the movie, Vivek Agnihotri, has alleged that there has been “pressure” on New Zealand censors by “some communal groups” to ban the movie in the country. Agnihotri urged his countrymen to “be united and oppose” the “undemocratic tactic by radicals” in New Zealand.

Meanwhile, the IPL 2022 is set to kick-off on March 26; all the 70 league games involving the 10 teams will be played across four stadiums in Mumbai and Pune.

Also Read: MS Dhoni Revealed The Reason Behind His Iconic No.7 Jersey

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button