Players Who Have Scored 70+ Runs Most No. Of Times In The IPL

The fever of the Indian Premier League is all set to grip the nation once again as the 2022 edition of the IPL is just around the corner and we just can’t wait for the extravaganza to begin. In the batsmen-dominated format of cricket, IPL has been all about big hitting and runs.

Here, in this article, we will take a look at the players who have scored 70+ scores the most number of times in IPL. These are the players who have anchored the team innings and have led them from the front to set a big total or chase down the total. Have a look:

Chris Gayle – 26 Times:

Chris Gayle should start from game one in IPL 2021: Ness Wadia | Cricket News - Times of India

The ‘Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle is hailed as the legend of the shortest format of the game. He has been one of the most destructive batters in the T20 cricket history and has been a match-winner for whichever franchise he played for. He has played a major role in making the IPL a huge success with some of his incredible knocks. The swashbuckling batter holds several records in the IPL. So far, during his career in IPL, he has scored 70+ for 26 Times in IPL, which is the highest number till now.

Virat Kohli – 22 Times:

Indian and RCB batting maestro, Virat Kohli, who is hailed as the modern legend of the league is the highest run-getter in the IPL history with 6283 runs. He is the only player to have played for a single franchise — RCB, ever since the inception of IPL. He has played many memorable knocks for RCB and has always led the team from the front. He has scored 70+ scores 22 times.

David Warner – 21 Times:

The sensational Australian opener David Warner is known for his aggressive batting and high-voltage performances. He has been one of the most consistent performers in the history of IPL. So far, he has scored 70+ scores 21 times.

 AB de Villiers – 17 Times:

The superman cricket player from South Africa, AB de Villiers is one of the most loved overseas players. He is fondly called ‘Mr.360°’ by his fans as he can play all types of shots and for great athleticism on-field. He is known for being one step ahead of the bowler. Though, he has now retired from all formats of the game but he has a lot of records under his name.  He has scored 70+ scores 17 times during his glorious career in Indian Premier League.

Shikhar Dhawan – 17 Times:

Shikhar Dhawan IPL 2022 team: Shikhar Dhawan IPL salary 2022 - The SportsRush

India’s star opening batter Shikhar Dhawan is currently the second-highest run-getter in the IPL history, having scored 5784 runs. He has played for several teams including Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Capitals, and Deccan Chargers, and has been the biggest asset for the teams he has played for. He has scored 70+ scores 17 times so far in his Indian Premier League  career.

Shane Watson – 15 Times:


Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson remains to be one of the most loved cricketers. His all-around performances in the Indian Premier League (IPL) played a crucial role in helping the underdogs Rajasthan Royals lift the title in the inaugural edition and also in helping CSK win IPL 2018. He has scored 70+ scores 17 times during his IPL career.

KL Rahul – 14 Times:


India’s sensational batter KL Rahul has been IPL’s best batter since the 2018 season. He was the top run-scorer in the IPL 2021 season, having scored 626 runs from 13 matches at an average of 62.60. In IPL 2018 he smashed 659 runs from 14 matches at 54.91 and scored 593 runs at 53.90 in IPL 2019. In his IPL career so far, he has scored 70+ scores 14 times.

Rohit Sharma – 14 Times:


India’s and Mumbai Indian captain Rohit Sharma is currently the third-highest run-getter in IPL history, having scored 5611 runs. He has been one of the most consistent performers in the Indian league. He has scored 70+ scores 14 times so far in his Indian Premier League career.

Also Read: Here’s Why CSK Are Looking For Moeen Ali’s Replacement

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button