IPLIPL 2022News

Here’s Everything You need To Know About IPL 2022 Play-Offs

IPL 2022 play-offs will see the return of full-capacity crwods for the first time after COVID.

IPL 2022 Play-Offs: For the first time in three seasons, the Indian Premier League will see the return of a full-capacity crowd as the doors for the fans to fill the entire stadium for the IPL 2022 playoffs, to be played in Kolkata and Ahmedabad, have been opened by the BCCI.

After the ongoing IPL 2022 league stage ends on May 22, the Qualifier 1 and Eliminator will be held at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on May 24 and 25 while Qualifier 2 and the final will be at the Narendra Modi Stadium on May 27 and May 29. Both Kolkata and Ahmedabad had recently hosted the limited-overs series between India and West Indies, in February.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

tata ipl 2022

All 10 teams have played at least 7 matches each and we are into the second half of the IPL 2022 league stage.

The decision was taken on Saturday by the Apex Council of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) which also confirmed that the Women’s Twenty20 Challenge will be held in Lucknow.

The previous two seasons were either played behind closed doors or had limited capacity due to the Covid-19 pandemic. For the 2022 season, during the league phase, which is being played only at four grounds in Maharashtra, initially, the IPL had allowed 25% crowds. Later that was increased to 50% as the general covid-19 situation in India has gotten relatively better.

“As far as the men’s IPL knockout stage matches are concerned, it would be held in Kolkata and Ahmedabad, with 100% attendance allowed for the matches to be played after the league stage finishes on May 22,” Sourav Ganguly, the BCCI president, said.

Ganguly also confirmed that the three-team Women’s T20 Challenge will be held in Lucknow from May 24 to 28. The three-team Women’s T20 Challenge, comprising teams Trailblazers, Supernovas and Velocity, will be hosted by the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA) and it will be held in Lucknow. The squads will be picked after the ongoing women’s Twenty20 Trophy in May.

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button