IPLIPL 2022

IPL 2022: Jonny Bairstow’s Direct-Hit From Deep Square Goes Viral On The Internet

Jonny Bairstow Direct-Hit From Deep Square Goes Virat On The Internet: Lucknow Super Giants batsman Deepak Hooda has only himself to blame for his lackadaisical running between the wickets that brought his downfall against the Punjab Kings in Pune on Friday evening.

Hooda was run out by a brilliant direct hit from Jonny Bairstow, however, the LSG number 3 could have, and should have, done better to get back in the crease in time instead of his sloppy running that saw him getting dismissed on 34 runs in the 14th over of LSG’s innings.

Advertising
Advertising
layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

Hooda’s wicket came after Quinton de Kock, another well set batter had been dismissed, which meant two new batters at the crease. That turned out to be fateful for Lucknow as they collapsed from 98/1 to 111/6 in a space of four overs.

A short ball from Arshdeep Singh was pulled on the backfoot by Krunal Pandya. Jonny Bairstow, who was positioned at deep square leg, ran a few metres to his right to collect the ball and threw it on one bounce to the non-striker’s end.

What should have been an easy couple of runs now suddenly became a chance of a run-out because Hooda showed laxness while returning for the second run and was merely jogging; on the replays, it felt that he’d been expecting the throw at the striker’s end.

Upon realizing that the throw is at his end, he sped up, however, he was a bit too late by then: Bairstow’s throw bounced a couple of yards in front of the stumps and then hit the top of the stumps with Hooda found short, the batter stretching himself but even didn’t put in the dive; a dive perhaps could have saved him. Krunal, at the other end, looked upset with Hooda for his careless running.

While the on-field umpire referred to the third umpire, Jonny Bairstow was certain that he’s found Hooda short of his crease, and signalled with his raised finger. The third umpire needed just one replay to confirm: OUT.

 

Also Read: IPL 2022: Fans React After Quinton de Kock After He Chooses To Walk Despite Being Given Not Out

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button