IPLIPL 2022News

List Of Bowlers Who Have Taken Hat-Trick In The IPL

Yuzvendra Chahal has joined the elite IPL list.

Rajasthan Royals’ leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal became the 21st bowler to take a hat-trick in the IPL when he dismissed Kolkata Knight Riders’ Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi, and Pat Cummins in a row en route to completing his maiden IPL five-wicket haul.

Chahal celebrated his hat-trick animatedly in his famous pose by sliding down the turf and resting his head on one hand. The crowd, which included his wife Dhanashree, went crazy as the leggie put RR in control of the game.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"
Yuzvendra chahal hat-trick ipl
Image source: Twitter.com

Taking three wickets in consecutive deliveries is a very difficult task in T20 cricket for various reasons including the tougher conditions when bowling second in night matches. It is to note that Chahal did it while bowling under the effect of dew.

Talking about IPL hat-tricks, former Chennai Super Kings speedster Lakshmipathy Balaji is the holder of the first-ever IPL hat-trick. He recorded this feat in the inaugural season in 2008 against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings), and took a five-for in that game.

Former Punjab captain Yuvraj Singh, a part-time spinner, stunned everyone in 2009 taking two hat-tricks in a single season. Deccan Chargers’ Rohit Sharma also took everyone by surprise when he took a hat-trick – against his current team Mumbai Indians – with his part-time off-spin.

Veteran leg-spinner Amit Mishra has three IPL hat-tricks, the most, to his name which he took for Delhi, Deccan, and SRH.

yuzvendra chahal hat-trick ipl 2022

The 2017 season saw three hat-tricks – from Jaydev Unadkat, Andrew Tye and Samuel Badree. Sam Curran, playing in his debut IPL year, for Punjab, snapped up a hat-trick in 2019.

Before Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel was the last bowler to snare an IPL hat-trick; he did vs Mumbai in his dream 2021 season.

Here’ a complete list of hat-tricks in IPL:

Player Bowling Figures Against Year
Lakshmipathy Balaji 5/24 KXIP 2008
Amit Mishra 5/17 DEC 2008
Makhaya Ntini 4/21 KKR 2008
Yuvraj Singh 3/22 RCB 2009
Rohit Sharma 4/6 MI 2009
Yuvraj Singh 3/13 DEC 2009
Praveen Kumar 3/18 RR 2010
Amit Mishra 4/9 KXIP 2011
Ajit Chandila 4/13 PWI 2012
Sunil Narine 3/33 KXIP 2013
Amit Mishra 4/19 PWI 2013
Pravin Tambe 3/26 KKR 2014
Shane Watson 3/13 SRH 2014
Axar Patel 4/21 GL 2016
Samuel Badree 4/9 MI 2017
Andrew Tye 5/17 RPS 2017
Jaydev Unadkat 5/30 SRH 2017
Sam Curran 4/11 DC 2019
Shreyas Gopal 3/12 RCB 2019
Harshal Patel 4/17 MI 2021
Yuzvendra Chahal 5/40 KKR 2022

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button