Ashish Nehra Has Become The First Indian To Achieve This Big Record In The IPL

On Sunday, as Gujarat Titans defeated Rajasthan Royals in the final round of the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League at the Narendra Modi Stadium, several records were broken. While Gujarat Titans became only the second team to win the IPL trophy in their maiden season, former Indian pacer Ashish Nehra achieved a big record as well.

Ashish Nehra ended a long wait of 14-year as he became the first Indian to win the Indian Premier League (IPL) trophy as a head coach. So far in the cash-rich league, no Indian player was able to achieve this feat but Ashish Nehra, in his first stint as head coach of any IPL team itself has achieved this rare feat.

Ashish Nehra GT head coach
Image Source – Times Now

Ashish Nehra Achieved A Rare Feat

Former Indian pacer, who was part of the Indian team that won the World Cup 2011, under the leadership of MS Dhoni had a supporting cast in the form of Gary Kirsten, who was the head coach of India in 2011. Both Nehra and Gary mastered a plan that helped the underrated squad of Gujarat Titans to defy all odds to win the IPL title in their first attempt itself.

Image Source – RediffMail

Before Ashish Nehra achieved this big feat, in the previous 14 seasons of the Indian Premier League, five different Australian players – Shane Warne, Darren Lehmann, Ricky Ponting, Trevor Bayliss, and Tom Moddy – have won the IPL as the head coach on six occasions, while two players from New ZealandStephen Fleming and John Wright – have achieved the feat five times. Former Sri Lankan skipper Mahela Jayawardene has achieved this feat on three occasions.

Check out the full list of all the head coaches who have won the IPL so far:

  • 2008–Rajasthan Royals–Shane Watson
  • 2009–Deccan Chargers–Darren Lehmann
  • 2010–Chennai Super Kings–Stephen Fleming
  • 2011–Chennai Super Kings–Stephen Fleming
  • 2012–Kolkata Knight Riders–Trevor Bayliss
  • 2013–Mumbai Indians–John Wright
  • 2014–Kolkata Knight Riders–Trevor Bayliss
  • 2015–Mumbai Indian– Ricky Ponting
  • 2016–Sunrisers Hyderabad–Tom Moody
  • 2017–Mumbai Indians–Mahela Jayawardene
Also Read: Kieron Pollard Wrote A Beautiful Message For ‘Brother’ Hardik Pandya

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button