IND vs SA: South Africa Picked A Very Strong Squad

IND vs SA: The Indian cricket team is all set to lock horns with South Africa in the upcoming 5-match T20I series, starting from June 09. On Tuesday, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the much-awaited squad for the upcoming series and there are some interesting names in the squad this time.

While Anrich Nortje is making his return to the team, the squad also features Mumbai Indians’ talented youngster Tristan Stubbs, who has finally received his maiden-call-up in the senior team. However, 19-year-old Dewald Brevis, who impressed one and all with his terrific performances in the ongoing season for Mumbai Indians, will have to wait a little longer for his maiden-call for the senior team.

Source – Twitter

Besides Nortje, the likes of Reeza Hendricks and Heinrich Klaasen are also making their return to the senior team while Warne Parnell has also been included in the national setup for the shortest format of the game, for the first time since 2017.

Other IPL-bound players, who are selected for the team includes Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, and Marco Jansen.

The official statement released by the CSA read: “The 21-year-old, right-hand, middle order batter, who impressed this past season while playing for the Gbets Warriors in the Cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Challenge, scored 293 runs in seven innings, at an average of 48.83 and a strike rate of 183.12, including 23 sixes. He was also part of the South Africa ‘A’ team to Zimbabwe before he was called up to the Mumbai Indians camp for the 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL),” 

The release added: “Other notable selections include the exciting return of fast bowler, Anrich Nortje who has been recovering from injury since December 2021 and batters, Reeza Hendricks and Heinrich Klaasen. Nortje has been medically cleared for action and is currently working through his return to play program while playing for the Delhi Capitals in the IPL,” 

Temba Bavuma wants to take South Africa Cricket back to the Top - Female Cricket

South Africa’s T20I Squad:

Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen

Also Read: Virender Sehwag Trolled Shoaib Akhtar Yet Again

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button