IPLIPL 2022News

IPL 2022: Mohammad Kaif Picks His Best XI, Ignores Dinesh Karthik

Former India batsman Mohammad Kaif recently named his best eleven of the IPL 2022. There were some obvious picks such as Orange Cap holder Jos Buttler, second-leading run-scorer KL Rahul and joint-highest wicket-taker (until Qualifier 2) Yuzvendra Chahal.

However, two big exclusions which Kaif made were Dinesh Karthik, the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s best batsman this season, who struck 330 runs at a strike rate of 183 – no batsman with over 200 runs this season has managed a higher strike rate than DK; the other big omission by Kaif was Gujarat Titans’ captain and all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who is, at the time of writing, GT’s highest score with 453 runs with 4 fifties to his name.

Image Source – The New Indian Express

“The first name in my team is Jos Buttler. He has been in excellent form and is also the Orange Cap holder. He has a lot of international experience and will keep wickets as well in the playing XI,” Kaif said in an interview with Sportskeeda.

Following the incredible opening duo of Buttler and KL Rahul, Kaif picked two quick starters and excellent players of spin bowling for his middle-order slots: David Warner and Rahul Tripathi.

Punjab Kings’ main man this season, Liam Livingstone, who smashed 437 runs at a strike rate of 182 and picked up 6 wickets, along with Kolkata Knight Riders’ best player of the season, Andre Russell, who scored 335 runs at a strike rate of 174 in addition to taking 17 wickets, are the two power-hitters and all-rounders in Kaif’s eleven.

Kaif, India’s 2000 under-19 World Cup-winning captain, opted for two leg-spinners in his side – Chahal (26 wickets) and Rashid Khan (18 wickets plus finishing two games with the bat).

Kaif’s pace department will be spearheaded by this season’s best powerplay pacer, Mohammed Shami (19 wickets), along with Jasprit Bumrah (15 wickets including a five-for) who got back his mojo in the second half of the season. SRH’s Umran Malik (22 wickets) is the middle-overs enforcer in Kaif’s team of the tournament.

Mohammad Kaif IPL 2022 XI:

Jos Buttler (wk), KL Rahul (c), David Warner, Rahul Tripathi, Liam Livingstone, Andre Russell, Rashid Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami

Also Read: Dinesh Karthik Shared A Beautiful Message For RCB Fans After IPL 2022 Exit

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button