Michael Vaughan Took A Dig At The BCCI

Former England captain Michael Vaughan went down the memory lane to take a dig at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) regarding the Ahmedabad pitch of the Narendra Modi Stadium.

Well, the Narendra Modi Stadium hosted the IPL 2022 qualifier round between Rajasthan Royals and the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the pitch was lively, unlike the previous times when the BCCI hosted international games at the venue – according to Vaughan.

After the game between Rajasthan Royals and the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Michael Vaughan took to his Twitter and took a sly dig at the BCCI. He wrote:

“Great to see some pace & bounce in the pitch in Ahmedabad !! Last time I watched I remember it resembling a beach,”

Check out his Tweet:

For the unversed, with this tweet, Michael Vaughan dug up the past by indirectly bringing up the 2021 Test match between India and England, which was played at the same venue. The third Test match was the first-ever Test match that was played at the world’s largest stadium.

However, the game ended up with a controversy as it got over in two days. During the game, a total of 30 wickets fell in two days as England’s Axar Patel thrashed the Indian side by picking a 10-wicket haul. The pitch for the game was criticized by one and all. The ICC also gave it an ‘average’ rating. The match finished in just 140.2 overs. While England was bowled out for 112 runs and 81, on the other hand, team India scored 145 runs in the first innings and chased down 49 runs without losing a wicket.

Also, this isn’t the first time that Michael Vaughan has taken a dig at the Gujarat pitch. Vaughan has taken repeated digs at the surface.

Meanwhile, the BCCI recently announced the Indian squad for the fifth Test match between India and England, which was postponed due to COVID cases.

India’s Test squad for the fifth Test vs England:

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc) Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Also Read: BCCI Announced Test Squad For Final Test Match; Pujara Returns

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button