IPLIPL 2022

Vikrant Gupta Exposed Umpire’s Mistake In Giving Rohit Sharma Caught Behind

Mumbai Indians (MI) captain Rohit Sharma was left baffled after his controversial dismissal in the ongoing game between Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders at the DY Patil Sports Academy on Monday, May 9.

The umpiring standards in the ongoing 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League once again came into the limelight after a contentious decision by the third umpire that saw Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma walked back to the pavilion after scoring just 2 runs.

Advertising
Advertising
layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"

Though, Mumbai started off well with Jasprit Bumrah picking 5 wickets to restrict Kolkata Knight Riders to 165 runs, however, right after, in the first over of MI‘s innings controversy struck.

Well, things started off in a terrible way for Mumbai in the second innings as they lost the big wicket of Rohit Sharma in a controversial way. Rohit was caught behind by keeper Sheldon Jackson off the bowling of Tim Southee for 2 off 6 balls in the first over the innings.

Southee bowled the first over and it was on the last delivery when he got the chance to get better off Rohit Sharma. He went past Rohit’s edge on the leg side, which hit the thigh pad as Jackson took a one-handed stunner behind the stumps.

The on-field umpire gave it not out before Jackson convinced the captain Shreyas Iyer to take the DRS call. In the replays, the ultra-edge witnessed spikes on the snickometer when the ball was close to Rohit’s bat. However, many noticed that there were some spikes even before the ball came close to Sharma’s bat. Third-umpire asked the on-field umpire to change the decision to ‘out’.

Rohit Sharma was himself left in disbelief after the decision of the umpire as he shook his head before he walked back to the pavilion.

Source – Twitter

Meanwhile, fans on social media are divided into two parts and are currently debating the controversial dismissal. Among many, popular sports journalist Vikrant Gupta also took to his Twitter and expressed his opinion about the same. He wrote:

“How can the third umpire not see what we saw? Rohit was NOT OUT #MIvsKKR”

Check out the Tweet:

 

Check out the reactions of fans:

Also Read: IPL 2022: Jasprit Bumrah’s Wife Gave A “Holy Moly” Reaction On Twitter

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet-reports and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button