Rishabh Pant made a big mistake
Making his India captaincy debut, Pant, who was elevated after KL Rahul was ruled out due to an injury, bowled Chahal only 2.1 overs in the game.
Chahal was taken for 16 runs in his first over, which he bowled in the powerplay, but came back strongly giving away just 6 runs in his second over. However, it was surprising to see Chahal not bowl again until the last over after the game was virtually decided.
Ashish Nehra Slams Rishabh’s Captaincy
Ashish Nehra opined that head coach Rahul Dravid could have sent in a message to Pant about bowling again Chahal.
“Rishabh Pant is a young captain, he will learn and hopefully he will get better. Now, if Dravid feels that Chahal should bowl an over, obviously a message can be sent. They have to keep things simple and be proactive,” Nehra told Cricbuzz.
“It is very surprising to me that a bowler like him only bowled 2 overs today. He should have bowled to the van der Dussen-Miller pair, especially at the stage when South Africa were back in the chase. Rishabh Pant surely made a mistake over there.”
Ashish slammed Pant for not utilizing Yuzvendra Chahal properly
Nehra said that Pant perhaps didn’t want to bowl Chahal, the leg-spinner, to left-hander David Miller. However, the former seamer reckoned such “defensive” mindset needs to be washed away to take wickets of good batters in the middle.
“He only bowled 2 overs today. Sometimes teams hold back leg spinners because there is a left-hander batting. It is important to keep a wicket-taking option in the middle overs. If you have to stop a top-quality International batter, you will have to take his wicket, defensive bowling won’t work,” the Gujarat Titans head coach opined further.