IND vs SATrending

IND va SA: Gautam Gambhir And Morne Morkel Challenged Each On Twitter

Former India opener Gautam Gambhir and former South African speedster Morne Morkel were engaged in a Twitter banter where both the cricketers backed their respective countries to start the five-match T20I series on a winning note. The two teams will clash in the first match on June 9, in Delhi.

Gautam Gambhir and Morne Morkel challenged each other on Twitter

Both Gambhir and Morkel are part of the Star Sports commentary panel and both hyped up the series.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"
Gautam Gambhir
Image Source – TOI

India will be led by Rishabh Pant, who was promoted from vice-captain to captain after KL Rahul was ruled out of the series due to a groin injury. Hardik Pandya, who propelled the Gujarat Titans, to the IPL 2022 in the franchise’s debut season, has been named as Pant’s deputy.

South Africa, led by Temba Bavuma, are at full strength and will look for a series win in India.

Morne Morkel is confident that the Protea will take the series by storm and emerge victroious in Delhi.

“Landing the 1st punch, and take the series by (storm emoji), that’s what (South Africa) will look to do.. No better stage to make a name for yourself,” Morne Morkel tweeted.

Gambhir backs India to create world record

Gautam Gambhir’s reply to Morkel suggested serious business from the 2007 T20 World Cup winner as he backed India to create the world record for most consecutive T20I wins in men’s cricket.

Currently, with 12 wins on a trot, India holds the joint record with Afghanistan and Romania for most consecutive men’s T20I wins and a win on Thursday will help the script history.

“It’s not often that you get to #ChaseTheRecord of 13 back to back T20I wins. #TeamIndia 🇮🇳 is ready for the Protea challenge!” Gambhir tweeted back to Morne.

Here, check out Gautam Gambhir’s strong reply to Morne Morkel:

India’s glorious winning streak started in the T20 World Cup – after losing to Pakistan and New Zealand, they defeated Afghanistan, Scotland, and Namibia followed by 3-0 whitewashes each at home over New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka, prior to the IPL 2022.

Also, India have only lost one of the last 10 bilateral T20I series – to Sri Lanka in July last year. Since December 2019, they’ve beaten Bangladesh, West Indies (twice), Sri Lanka (twice), New Zealand (twice), Australia and England in T20I bilateral series.

Also Read: Ravi Shastri Explained Why Sanju Samson Should Be In Team India’s T20 WC Squad

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button