Ravi Shastri Backed Rahul Tripathi To Make His India Debut vs Ireland

Former India head coach Ravi Shastri feels that Rahul Tripathi could make his India T20I debut in the upcoming series against Ireland; the two T20Is will be played on June 26 and 28 in Dublin.

Rahul Tripathi earned his maiden India call-up for this series following his jaw-dropping batting during the IPL 2022. While Sunrisers Hyderabad had a disappointing season overall, Tripathi shone brightly with the bat.

The Maharashtra batsman was SRH’s second-highest scorer this season, his 413 runs coming at a terrific strike rate of 158 and he emerged as one of the best middle-overs enforcers of the tournament.

Rahul Tripathi Ravi Shastri
Image Source – NDTV Sports

Tripathi is not overawed by any opposition: Ravi Shastri

Eulogizing Tripathi’s batting and aggressiveness, Ravi Shastri asserted that the 31-year-old is now intimidated by any opposition bowler; the former head coach reckons Tripathi’s attacking intent right from the start of his innings helps his side keep a quick tempo.

“When he is there at the crease, the scoreboard is ticking. He doesn’t go behind the eight ball. Shot-making ability and the all-round game that he has, he’s not overawed by any opposition or by any bowler. He’s scoring at a great rate. You know, which is tremendous at No.3 because he sets it up beautifully,” Shastri said on ESPNcricinfo.

Only one middle-order spot available for four players

Only few are made from the squad that took on South Africa: Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer joined up with the Test side in England while Tripathi was added to the squad and Suryakumar Yadav and Sanju Samson made a return.

Yadav, who missed the South Africa series, will slot in at either number 3 or 4 straightaway. Ruturaj and Ishan are likely to the openers despite the former’s poor form recently. Skipper Hardik Pandya and Dinesh Karthik will take the number 5 and 6 spots followed by Axar Patel, followed by four other bowlers.

This leaves only one middle-order spot for which Tripathi, Samson, Hooda and Venkatesh Iyer will be jostling for.

India Squad vs Ireland: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Also Read: 10 Best Tweets On The 39th Anniversary Of India’s Historic 1983 World Cup Win

Jatin Khandelwal

Hi, I am Jatin Khandelwal. Cricket writing came accidentally for me with an undergrad engineering degree. With opportunities first as a freelancer and then full-time, and experience with time, I have grown in the role. The Cricket Lounge is a place where I can thrive with the best of my abilities.

Related Articles

Back to top button