Rishabh Pant Made A Heart-Winning First Statement As Captain

India’s stand-in captain Rishabh Pant is very happy and excited after getting the opportunity to lead the Indian cricket team in the ongoing 5-match T20I series against South Africa.

KL Rahul, who was expected to lead team India for the five-match T20I series against South Africa was unfortunately ruled out with a right groin injury, prompting the selectors to give Rishabh Pant an opportunity to lead the team.

layout="fixed" width="336" height="280" type="adsense" data-ad-client="ca-pub-5474032326006367" data-ad-slot="3340040536"
Rishabh Pant
Image Source – Twitter

Rishabh Pant Is Leading Team India For The First Time

Meanwhile, before the game kickstarted, the Indian cricket team was put in to bat first by Temba Bavuma as the South African skipper has won the toss in the series-opener. After winning the toss, Bavuma said middle-order batter Tristan Stubbs will make his international debut as Aiden Markram tested positive for Covid-19 and has been ruled out of the ongoing match.

On the other hand, Rishabh Pant said that he didn’t mind batting first and also confirmed that Ishan Kishan will open alongside Ruturaj Gaikwad with Hardik Pandya and Dinesh Karthik returning to the T20I side after a long time.

Rishabh Pant
Image Source – Twitter

Pant Made A Heartfelt Statement

Rishabh Pant, who will be leading the Indian cricket team for the first time, was thrilled with the fact that he is making his captaincy debut at his home ground. Expressing his emotions, Pant said:

“I think it is a good surface and don’t mind batting first. But if I had won the toss, I would have bowled first. It is one of the proudest moments in my cricketing career so far. Because a Delhi boy getting that (captaincy) honour at Delhi is a huge thing for me. Thanks to everyone for giving me this opportunity. We know our XI but at the same time, we are giving different roles to players and see how they cope with that going forward,”

India’s Playing XI:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umran Malik

South Africa’s Playing XI:

Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Temba Bavuma (C), David Miller, Dwaine Pretorious, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje

Also Read: IND va SA: Gautam Gambhir And Morne Morkel Challenged Each On Twitter

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button