Irfan Pathan Took A Brutal Dig At Virat Kohli And Rohit Sharma

Former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan wrote a cryptic tweet after the likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma were rested for the upcoming ODI series against West Indies. Well, the BCCI, on Wednesday (July 6), announced India’s squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against the West Indies, beginning on July 22 in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

Shikhar Dhawan has been appointed as the captain

While veteran Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has been appointed the captain of the Indian cricket team by the all-India Senior Selection Committee, on the other hand, the BCCI has rested many regular players.

Star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been appointed as his deputy for the West Indies series. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill will join Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, and Shreyas Iyer for the upcoming series against WI. The selection committee has also picked Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson for the role of a wicketkeeper in the absence of Rishabh Pant.

Shikhar Dhawan India's Squad
Image Source – Jagran

The bowling unit includes talented names like Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, and Arshdeep Singh.

The Shikhar Dhawan-led Indian cricket team will fly to the Caribbean for a limited-overs tour, after the conclusion of the ongoing tour of England. Team India is scheduled to play 3 ODIs followed by 5 T20Is against the hosts.

Rohit Sharma And Virat Kohli Rested Again

Meanwhile, the BCCI has rested all-format captain Rohit Sharma, batting maestro Virat Kohli, bowling sensation Jasprit Bumrah, all-rounder Hardik Pandya, and keeper-batter Rishabh Pant for the upcoming series.

Irfan Pathan
Image Source – The Indian Express

BCCI’s decision to rest out of form Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli hasn’t gone down well with many. Former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan also took to his social media to express his disappointment for the same. He took a sly dig at Kohli and Rohit and wrote:

No one comes back to form while resting…”

Check out the Tweet:

India’s Squad For ODI Series Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

Also Read: Former Indian Cricketer Slams India’s Decision Of Giving Captaincy To Jasprit Bumrah

Unnati Madan

Unnati Madan is a senior cricket writer, with more than 5 years of experience in cricket writing. Here you will read some of the most entertaining cricket news, tweet reports, and cricket stories by Unnati. She also takes keen interest in poetry and has been awarded as the 'Writer of the year' by Quora.

Related Articles

Back to top button