1. Home
  2. IND vs SL

IND vs SL Watch: Deepak Hooda Abuses Umpire “Behen Ke L***” In 1st T20I

IND vs SL Watch: Deepak Hooda Abuses Umpire “Behen Ke L***” In 1st T20I

Deepak Hooda played a gem of a knock in the first T20I against Sri Lanka, at the Wankhede on Tuesday, which helped India get to a total of 162/5 after being 94/5. Hooda staged a brilliant partnership of 68* (35) with Axar Patel for the 6th wicket.

Hooda smashed 4 sixes in his knock of 41* off 23 balls while Axar cracked 3 fours and a six to finish with 31* off 20 balls.

In his attacking innings, though, Deepak Hooda also abused the on-field umpire KN Anantha Padmanabhan after the umpire had denied Hooda a wide in the slog overs.

On the 5th ball of the 18th over, bowled by Kasun Rajitha, Hooda prematurely stepped onto the off side across the stumps, perhaps in a bid to target the leg side boundary. Kasun Rajitha smartly followed the batsman and bowled a delivery which was outside the wide marker, but since Hooda had moved much across the stumps, the ball was within his reach. Hooda let it go, thinking it would be called a wide, but the umpire didn’t call it a wide, leaving the batter fuming.

Hooda was visibly angry and even abused the umpire “behen ke l***”.

This reaction of Deepak Hooda and his abuse to the umpire was caught on camera, and the video went viral in quicktime.

Here is the video:

Earlier, Ishan Kishan had started off in a blazing fashion, taking 16 runs off the bat in the first over itself, but as he lost partners at the other end - debutant Shubman Gill and Suryakumar Yadav were dismissed in single-digits - Kishan slowed down and eventually ended with 37 (29). Hardik Pandya batted well for his 29 runs off 27 balls, anchoring the innings.


Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

India (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan(w), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya(c), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal