1. Home
  2. IND vs SL

IND vs SL Watch: Hardik Pandya Falls On The Ground After Playing A Difficult Shot

IND vs SL Watch: Hardik Pandya Falls On The Ground After Playing A Difficult Shot

In the first T20I against Sri Lanka on Tuesday at the Wankhede, on a pitch that assisted both the pacers and spinners, India did well to reach the total of 162/5 after being 94/5 courtesy of a terrific partnership of 68* (35) between Deepak Hooda and Axar Patel after knocks from Hardik Pandya and Ishan Kishan had kept India in the game.

Leading the side, Pandya batted well for his 29 runs off 27 balls, anchoring the innings but was dismissed by Dilshan Madushanka at the wrong time for India. However, after Pandya’s wicket, Hooda and Axar stabilized for a while before both started attacking in the death overs.

Hooda smashed 4 sixes in his knock of 41* off 23 balls while Axar cracked 3 fours and a six to finish with 31* off 20 balls. Earlier, Ishan Kishan had started off in a blazing fashion, taking 16 runs off the bat in the first over itself, but as he lost partners at the other end - debutant Shubman Gill and Suryakumar Yadav were dismissed in single-digits - Kishan slowed down and eventually ended with 37 (29).

WATCH: Theekshana’s yorker floors Hardik Pandya

During his sedate knock after a brisk start, Hardik Pandya received a terrific yorker from Sri Lanka mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana. On the 5th ball of the 13th over, Maheesh Theekshana fired in a quicker yorker after seeing Hardik take a step toward the leg side.

The ball swung in late and straight at Hardik’s toes, with the batter trying to dig out the ball. As Hardik jammed the ball, he fell down on the ground and for seconds remained completely on the ground before getting up.

You can watch the video here:


Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

India (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan(w), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya(c), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal