Here’s How Much Commentators Will Earn In IPL 2022

Preparations for the IPL 2022 have already started with the 8 franchises announcing their retentions. The two new teams – Lucknow and Ahmedabad – will soon announce their top three picks as all the 10 teams gear up for the mega-auction, to be held on February 12 and 13.


Another aspect which the board has been pondering over is the commentators and their salaries for the upcoming season. The commentators are responsible for analyzing the game in a simpler way capable of being understood by the audience, and also keeping them updated with the happenings during the game. It’s a high-profile and important job in the richest, biggest cricket league in the world. Hence, they are paid handsomely.

In the past few years, the broadcasters have also added regional languages such as Telugu, and Tamil apart from English and Hindi. We can look at the salaries of the commentators from IPL 2021, and expected similar or more for the upcoming tournament.

IPL has divided its category of commentators into 3 premier panels which are the English panel, Hindi panel, and Dugout.

Panel Salary Range
English Panel $250,000 to $500,000
Hindi Panel $80,000 to $350,000
Dugout Panel $500,000 to $700,000


The range of salary being offered varies as per different medium of language.

In the English panel, highly experienced commentators such as Harsha Bhogle and Sunil Gavaskar are among the top earners. Notably, Sanjay Mangrekar wasn’t retained by the BCCI for last season’s

English Panel IPL Commentators Salary

Commentators Salary Country
Harsha Bhogle $500,000 India
Ian Bishop $500,000 West Indies
Michael Slater $500,000 Australia
Sunil Gavaskar $500,000 India
Kevin Pietersen $500,000 England
Mark Nicholas $500,000 England
Kumar Sangakkara $500,000 Sri Lanka
Simon Doull $350,000 New Zealand
Danny Morrison $350,000 New Zealand
Deep Dasgupta $250,000 India
Rohan Gavaskar $250,000 India
Pommie Mbangwa $250,000 Zimbabwe
Darren Ganga $250,000 West Indies
L Sivaramakrishnan $250,000 India
Anjum Chopra $250,000 India
Lisa Sthalekar $250,000 Australia
JP Duminy $250,000 South Africa
Murali Kartik $250,000 India


Known for his creative style with the mic, former India opener Aakash Chopra was the highest earner in the Hindi panel.

Hindi Panel IPL Commentators Salary

Commentator Salary
Aakash Chopra $350,000
Irfan Pathan $200,000
Gautam Gambhir $200,000
Ashish Nehra $200,000
Ajit Agarkar $200,000
Kiran More $200,000
Sanjay Banger $80,000
Nikhil Chopra $80,000
Sandeep Patil $80,000


IPL didn’t release the salary of the dugout commentators. The dugout studio is in Mumbai. They are paid between $500,000 and $700,000.

These were the commentators seen in the Dugout last season:

  • Late Dean Jones
  • Graeme Swann
  • Scott Styris
  • Brian Lara
  • Brett Lee
  • Brian Lara

Also Read: Here’s How Zaheer Khan’s Advice Changed Shardul Thakur’s Career

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button