IPL 2021 Schedule Announced, These 6 Cities Will Host The Tournament

IPL 2021: The BCCI announced the schedule for the upcoming 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League on Sunday. The much-awaited tournament will return to India after a period of two years.


Because of the Coronavirus outbreak, the last season of the IPL was hosted in the UAE, however, now keeping the bio-bubble in mind the BCCI has selected six cities to host the cash-rich league including – Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Mumbai, Delhi, and Kolkata.

The much-awaited season will kickstart on April 9 in Chennai with an intense clash between Royal Challengers Bangalore and defending champions Mumbai Indians.

Out of the 56 league games, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata & Bengaluru will host 10 games, while, Delhi and Ahmedabad will host eight games each. While each of the eight teams will get to play at four different venues during the league stage but none of them will get to play at their Den in order to avoid home game advantage.

Yes, you read that right. One of the biggest highlights of the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League is that all the games are scheduled to be played on neutral venues. The newly renovated Narendra Modi Stadium will also host the playoffs as well as the final on May 30, 2021. The new stadium is grand in every sense and will be hosting its first-ever IPL game in the 2021 edition of the IPL.

A total of 11 doubleheaders will be played on weekends. Afternoon matches are scheduled to begin at 3:30 PM IST while all evening games will begin at 7:30 PM IST. ‘Indian Premier League’ also took to their social media and shared the full schedule of the IPL 2021. Here, check out the Tweet:

Unnati Madan

I love watching cricket but writing about it came unexpectedly.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button