IPL 2023: 5 Records That Belong Only To CSK

  1. Home
  2. IPL

IPL 2023: 5 Records That Belong Only To CSK


The 15th season of the Indian Premier League stands on the edge. This season of IPL is going to start from 26th March. Before this, all the teams are engaged in practicing with their army, in which one team is also the defending champion Chennai Super Kings. 

The Chennai Super Kings, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, have had tremendous dominance on the IPL stage. Chennai Super Kings have won the title 4 times so far. This time Chennai Super Kings is looking to become the champion for the 5th time. Looking at the balance and strength of the team, under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings has all the qualities to become the champion once again.

Talking about the Chennai Super Kings team, the name of this team is the rule on many records in the journey of IPL so far. So in this article, let us have a look at the records set by Chennai Super Kings.

Team that played the most playoffs

After the IPL started in the year 2008, this caravan has completed its 14 seasons till 2021. The team of Chennai Super Kings had already made the final in the season, after which it has become a habit for this team to enter the last four. Chennai Super Kings have played 12 out of 14 seasons (the 2016 and 2017 seasons did not play due to the ban), out of which they have made it to the playoffs 11 times. This is the record for most playoffs by any team in IPL history.

Chennai Super Kings- Videos, Shop, News, Live Scores,Tickets

Most matches led by a captain

The magic of Chennai Super Kings has been spoken from the very beginning, in which the most special and impressive work has been done by the captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been in charge as the captain of Chennai Super Kings since the very first season of 2008. In the 12 seasons played by Chennai Super Kings in IPL, Mahendra Singh Dhoni is leading the team, who has led a team in most matches as a captain. Dhoni captained CSK in 190 matches, winning 116 matches, while losing only 73 matches.

Record of playing most final matches

In the journey of IPL, the second name of Chennai Super Kings has become a finalist team in a way. The record of this team playing the finals is very impressive. In the 14 seasons played so far, Chennai Super Kings has been a part of this tournament 12 times, out of which they have played the finals 9 times. This record in itself has shown the dominance of a team. In the history of IPL, CSK has played the most number of finals 9 times, out of which they have won the title 4 times.

IPL 2023 Auction: 3 Players Which Can Be Retained By Chennai Super Kings ( CSK)

Most wickets in a season

One of the most successful teams of IPL, Chennai Super Kings is not hidden from anyone. How can the contribution of their players in this tremendous performance of CSK be ignored. CSK has such a bowler, who has done the job of taking most wickets in a single season of IPL. These names have been Dwayne Bravo of the Windies. Dwayne Bravo took 32 wickets in the 2013 IPL season. This is the record for the most wickets taken by any bowler in a season, although this position is now jointed by Harshal Patel of RCB along with Bravo.

Defending the lowest score

It is very difficult to defend a small score in T20 cricket. Defending a small score, any team is rarely seen winning. But in the IPL, Chennai Super Kings have defended a score of less than 120 runs. In the second season of IPL, CSK only defended a score of 116 against Punjab Kings. In that match, CSK had scored only 116 runs while playing first, but on the basis of superb bowling, defeated Punjab Kings by 24 runs. This is the record of winning the lowest score in the history of IPL.