IPL 2023 Auction: List Of Players Released And Retained By Mumbai Indians

  1. Home
  2. IPL

IPL 2023 Auction: List Of Players Released And Retained By Mumbai Indians

IPL 2023 Auction: List Of Players Released And Retained By Mumbai Indians

The five-time champions Mumbai Indians have announced the list of retained and released players ahead of the IPL 2023 mini-auction.

Mumbai released 13 players from their squad from last season. Barring a couple of releases, it was majorly on the expected note, though the news of Kieron Pollard’s retirement from the IPL was a talking point regarding MI on Tuesday.

Pollard was set to be released by MI due to his poor form this year and the alternatives already in their squad - Dewald Brevis, Tristan Stubbs, and Tim David are all retained and are having a good year with the bat. Pollard will be part of MI next season as the batting coach.

Apart from Pollard, the other overseas players Mumbai Indians have released are Daniel Sams, Fabian Allen, Riley Meredith, and Tymal Mills. The Ambani-owned franchise have also let go off some of the underperforming players in Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Basil Thampi, and Murugan Ashwin, though the release of Sanjay Yadav, an all-rounder with good potential, was a bit surprising.

After their worst-ever IPL season, wherein they finished at the bottom of the points table in the 10-team tournament, Mumbai Indians let go off many bowlers and will go in the auction with a handy purse of 20.55 crore to buy better bowlers. They have also already traded in Jason Behrendorff from RCB.

Mumbai Indians' IPL 2022 Playoffs Qualification Scenario - Articles

Here are the players released by Mumbai Indians:

Kieron Pollard, Anmolpreet Singh, Aryan Juyal, Basil Thampi, Daniel Sams, Fabian Allen, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Rahul Buddhi, Riley Meredith, Sanjay Yadav, Tymal Mills

Here are the players retained by Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma (C), Tim David, Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, Arjun Tendulkar, Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal

Mumbai Indians have retained the Indian core of Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, and Jasprit Bumrah. They have also kept faith with a number of youngsters including Arjun Tendulkar.

Overseas slots remaining: 3

Purse remaining: INR 20.55 crore

The IPL 2023 auction will take place in Kochi on December 23.