1. Home
  2. News

Ravindra Jadeja All Set To Feature In Ranji Trophy In Order to Prove Fitness

Ravindra Jadeja All Set To Feature In Ranji Trophy In Order to Prove Fitness

In a big boost for the Indian cricket team, star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is all set to make a comeback. Yes, according to a report by ESPNcricinfo, Jadeja is expected to play in Saurashtra's final Ranji Trophy match, which is all set to begin on January 24th. The Ranji final will feature Chennai against Tamil Nadu. 

For the unversed, Jadeja had to leave Asia Cup last September to undergo surgery on his right knee and is currently finishing up his rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore. The selectors have also named him in the 17-man Test squad for the first half of the ongoing four-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy, which starts in Nagpur on February 9. The second Test match will be played in Delhi followed by the final two Tests in Dharamsala and Ahmedabad.

While Jadeja has been named in the 17-man squad for the Test series against Australia, however, BCCI stated that his inclusion is subject to his fitness ahead of the series. Well, at the time of the team announcement, the selectors had clarified that Jadeja will be considered for selection only if the NCA certifies his fitness. 

Shame On You, You Are Fully Fit, But Busy in Politics'-Fans Troll Ravindra  Jadeja for Perplexing Tweet

Jadeja's fitness continues to be a bone of contention and as per some reports, the BCCI had asked  Jadeja to play at least one domestic game before he is considered fit to play.

“Jadeja has been asked to play at least one domestic game. If he is indeed fit then it will solve the problem of having a left-hander in the middle order and India can play five bowlers,” a BCCI source told Times of India.

Now, it needs to be seen if Jadeja plays a domestic match and proves his fitness in order to make a comeback in the Indian cricket team. 

India's Test squad for the first two Tests against Australia:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat and Suryakumar Yadav.