Watch: The Most Controversial Dismissal of Under 19 World Cup

  1. Home
  2. Opinion

Watch: The Most Controversial Dismissal of Under 19 World Cup

Just a few days into the Under 19 World Cup and a major controversy has emerged out of the tournament. This controversy emerged in the Group A match between South Africa and West Indies when a South African batsman Jiveshan Pillay was given out for having ‘obstructed the field.’ HERE IS THE STORY It happened …


Just a few days into the Under 19 World Cup and a major controversy has emerged out of the tournament. This controversy emerged in the Group A match between South Africa and West Indies when a South African batsman Jiveshan Pillay was given out for having ‘obstructed the field.’

Watch: The Most Controversial Dismissal of Under 19 World Cup
Image Source: Twitter

HERE IS THE STORY

It happened in the 16th over of the South African innings when Pillay edged the fourth ball and the ball rolled towards the stumps before stopping by itself.

After the ball had come to a complete halt, the batsman showed a kind gesture by picking up the ball and giving it to the fielding side but he would have never imagined that this little act of kindness will cost him his wicket. He was given out for having obstructed the field.

A VERY BIZARRE DISMISSAL

Watch: The Most Controversial Dismissal of Under 19 World Cup
Image Source: Twitter

This was one very bizarre dismissal and one of its own kind. The wicketkeeper Emmanuel Stewart, who also happens to be the skipper of the side picked up the ball and straightaway went up in appeal. The on-field umpires were convinced by the appeal coming in from the captain and they decided to go upstairs to the third umpire.

The third umpire gave the decision in the favour of the fielding side and Pillay had to make the long walk back to the pavilion in a manner he would have never anticipated.

HE WAS OUT AS PER THIS RULE

The third umpire gave him out in line with Law 37.4 of the ICC Code Of Conduct which pertains to ‘returning the ball to the fielder’ WHAT IS THE CONTROVERSY THEN?

In this particular case, the ball had stopped moving and Pillay only returned the ball after it had stopped moving completely. He did not stop the ball from going on to hit the stumps with his hands but only returned it after the ball died out. Shouldn’t West Indies have shown some sportsman spirit here for this was not really a case of obstructing the field?

Here is the clip of the incident: