IND vs SLOpinion

Who Will Captain India In Kohli’s Absence?

Virat Kohli who has had a very long home season has been rested for the limited overs fixtures with Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli had lashed out on the BCCI for poor scheduling and hence not getting enough time to prepare for the tough tour of South Africa.


Indian cricketer Bhuvneshwar Kumar (C) celebrates with his teammates after he dismissed Sri Lankan cricketer Niroshan Dickwella during the final one day international (ODI) cricket match between Sri Lanka and India at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on September 3, 2017. / AFP PHOTO / ISHARA S. KODIKARA (Photo credit should read ISHARA S. KODIKARA/AFP/Getty Images)
Image Source: Twitter

Now the BCCI has decided to rest Virat Kohli so that he gets enough rest and preparation time for the tour of South Africa. Who will captain the side? As the board has decided to rest Virat, Rohit Sharma who is the vice-captain in limited overs cricket will be at the helm of the team.

Ashwin and Jadeja have once again not found a place in the squad announced on Monday for three-match ODI series with Sri Lanka. Shikhar Dhawan who asked for rest citing personal issues has made a comeback for the ODI series as well as for the third test.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar who got married on 23rd and was hence released from the test squad would make a comeback too in the ODI series against Sri Lanka. KL Rahul, on the other hand, did not make it to the Indian squad for ODIs against the Lankans.

Here is the Indian squad for the 3 match ODI series Rohit Sharma (Captain), MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Kedhar Yadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandaya, Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ajinkya Rahane and Siddarth Kaul


indian-captain-ms-dhoni-with-teammates-manish-pandey-hardik-pandya-during-a-training-session_1477453687180bhuvi bumrah

axar patel

The Cricket Lounge

We bring to you all the detailed news, articles, updates and statistics from the world of cricket.

Related Articles

Back to top button