Australia's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Home
  2. T20 World Cup 2022

Australia's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

Australia schedule t20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022: Australia won their first T20 World Cup trophy last year, in the UAE, when they defeated trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand in an exciting final last year. Aaron Finch’s side now aims to become the first-ever team to successfully defend their T20 crown; playing in home conditions has already made them a firm favourite to win the title.

It is scary to think for the other teams that Australia’s batting has further been strengthened from last year by the inclusion of hard-hitting Singapore batsman Tim David, who already has played over 100 T20 matches around the world and is one of the most destructive finishers going around.

T20 world cup 2022: A full schedule will come out on this day, and from

Australia’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2022:

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis(wk), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade(wk), David Warner, Adam Zampa

Since last year’s T20 WC in UAE, Australia have played three T20I series and won all of them: 4-1 vs Sri Lanka at home; 1-0 in Pakistan and 2-1 in Sri Lanka.

Their toughest assignment so far this year is against India in a 3-T20I series in India, starting September 20. After that, they will host West Indies for a couple of T20Is.

At the T20 World Cup, every team that has already qualified for the Super 12 round will play warm-up matches.

Australia will meet India in their only warm-up game.

October 17 - Australia vs India; The Gabba, Brisbane - 9.30 AM IST

For the Super 12 round, Australia are drafted in Group 1 along with New Zealand, England, Afghanistan and two teams who will qualify from the preliminary round.

Here is the complete Schedule of the Australian team for the T20 World Cup 2022:

  • October 22 - Australia vs New Zealand; Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney - 12:30 PM IST
  • October 25 - Australia vs A1 (winners of Group A); Perth Stadium, Perth - 4:30 PM IST
  • October 28 - Australia vs England; Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne - 1:30 PM IST
  • October 31 - Australia vs B2 (runners-up of Group B); The Gabba, Brisbane - 1:30 PM IST
  • November 4 - Australia vs Afghanistan; Adelaide Oval, Adelaide - 9:30 AM IST

What is the format of T20 World Cup 2022?

Before the Super 12 round, the tournament will start on October 16 with the preliminary qualifying round, which also includes two-time champions West Indies, and another former champion and the recently crowned Asia Cup winner, Sri Lanka.

In the preliminary round, 8 teams will compete in two groups of 4 each. Four teams - top two from each group - will proceed to the Super 12, joining the other 8 teams who have already qualified.

In Super 12, the teams are divided into two groups of 6 each, with the top two from each group making it to the semi-final. The final will be played at the MCG on November 13.

Preliminary Qualifier Groups:

Group A: Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates

Group B: Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe

Super 12 groups:

Group 1: Australia, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, B1, A2