England's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Home
  2. T20 World Cup 2022

England's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022

England have a new skipper for this year’s T20 World Cup: Jos Buttler, who took over the duties after Eoin Morgan retired from international cricket in June amid poor form and injury struggles.

Like last year, England will continue to miss Jofra Archer; they have also been given a big blow in the form of Jonny Bairstow’s leg injury, which he sustained while playing golf. Bairstow has been England’s most in-form batter this year, and in his absence, the Three Lions have recalled Alex Hales after three years.

England won their only T20 World Cup in 2010.

T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source - Twitter

England’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2022:

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Alex Hales.

Reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills.

England were knocked out by New Zealand in the semi-final in last year’s T20 WC in the UAE. Since then, England have played three T20I series and have lost all of them - to West Indies (3-2), to India (2-1), and South Africa (2-1). They have a 7-T20I series in Pakistan, from September 20 to October 2, lined up before they fly to Australia.

At the T20 World Cup, every team that has already qualified for the Super 12 round will play warm-up matches.

England will meet Pakistan in their only warm-up game on October 17 at the Gabba.

For the Super 12 round, England are drafted in Group 1 along with New Zealand, Australia, Afghanistan and two teams who will qualify from the preliminary round.

Complete Schedule of the England team for the T20 World Cup 2022:

  • October 22 - England vs Afghanistan; Perth Stadium, Perth - 4:30 PM IST
  • October 26 - England vs B2 (runners-up of Group B); Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne - 9:30 AM IST
  • October 28 - Australia vs England; Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne - 1:30 PM IST
  • November 1 - England vs New Zealand; The Gabba, Brisbane - 1:30 PM IST
  • November 5 - Australia vs A1 (winners of Group A); Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney - 1:30 PM IST

Format of the T20 World Cup 2022:

Before the Super 12 round, the tournament will start on October 16 with the preliminary qualifying round, which also includes two-time champions West Indies, and another former champion and the recently crowned Asia Cup winner, Sri Lanka.

In the preliminary round, 8 teams will compete in two groups of 4 each. Four teams - top two from each group - will proceed to the Super 12, joining the other 8 teams who have already qualified.

In Super 12, the teams are divided into two groups of 6 each, with the top two from each group making it to the semi-final. The final will be played at the MCG on November 13.

Preliminary Qualifier Groups:

Group A: Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates

Group B: Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe

Super 12 groups:

Group 1: Australia, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, B1, A2