Pakistan's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Home
  2. T20 World Cup 2022

Pakistan's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022

Pakistan recently lost to Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup 2022 final where their middle-order was exposed and their death-bowling was bland in the absence of the injured Shaheen Afridi. The spearhead fast bowler, who is recovering from a knee injury, is named in the squad for the T20 World Cup.

In last year’s T20 WC in the UAE, Pakistan won all their five Super 12 matches - where they also beat India by 10 wickets - but were knocked out by Australia in the semi-final in.

Since then, Pakistan have played three T20I series, winning two - vs West Indies (3-0) and vs Bangladesh (3-0) - and lost a one-off T20I to Australia. They will host England in a 7-T20I series from September 20 to October 2, before flying to Australia.


Babar Azam
Image Source - Twitter

Pakistan squad for the T20 World Cup 2022:

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, and Usman Qadir.

Reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani

At the T20 World Cup, every team that has already qualified for the Super 12 round will play warm-up matches.

Pakistan will play two warm-up matches: vs England on October 17 and vs Afghanistan on October 19.

For the Super 12 round, Pakistan are drafted in Group 2 along with India, South Africa, Bangladesh and two teams who will qualify from the preliminary round.

Like last year’s T20 WC, Pakistan will start their campaign this year as well against India, at the MCG.

Complete Schedule of Pakistan team for the T20 World Cup 2022:

  • October 23 - Pakistan vs India; Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne - 1:30 PM IST
  • October 27 - Pakistan vs B1; Perth Stadium, Perth - 4:30 PM IST
  • October 30 - Pakistan vs A2; Perth Stadium, Perth - 12:30 PM IST
  • November 3 - Pakistan vs South Africa; Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney - 1:30 PM IST
  • November 6 - Pakistan vs Bangladesh; Adelaide Oval, Adelaide - 9:30 AM IST

Format of the T20 World Cup 2022:

Before the Super 12 round, the tournament will start on October 16 with the preliminary qualifying round, which also includes two-time champions West Indies, and another former champion and the recently crowned Asia Cup winner, Sri Lanka.

In the preliminary round, 8 teams will compete in two groups of 4 each. Four teams - top two from each group - will proceed to the Super 12, joining the other 8 teams who have already qualified.

In Super 12, the teams are divided into two groups of 6 each, with the top two from each group making it to the semi-final. The final will be played at the MCG on November 13.

Preliminary Qualifier Groups:

Group A: Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates

Group B: Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe

Super 12 groups:

Group 1: Australia, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, B1, A2