South Africa's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Home
  2. T20 World Cup 2022

South Africa's Schedule For The T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022: Complete Schedule Of South Africa Team, Dates, Timings in IST

With impressive and consistent performances in the past year, and boasting of a well-rounded, strong unit, South Africa have emerged as the dark horses for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022. The recall of T20 veteran Rilee Rossouw has added more firepower to the batting line-up.

It is not to forget that they missed out on a semi-final berth last year in the UAE on net run rate after ending up with the same amount of points as Australia and England.

Since the 2021 T20 WC, South Africa have played 3 T20I series all away from home: a 2-2 draw in India, 2-1 win in England and 2-0 win vs Ireland. They have another tough assignment coming up: 3-T20Is in India before they fly to Australia.

South Africa squad for the T20 World Cup 2022:

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo.

At the T20 World Cup, every team that has already qualified for the Super 12 round will play warm-up matches.

T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source - Twitter

South Africa will play two warm-up matches: vs New Zealand on October 17 and vs Bangladesh on October 19.

For the Super 12 round, South Africa are drafted in Group 2 along with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and two teams who will qualify from the preliminary round.

Complete Schedule of South Africa team for the T20 World Cup 2022:

  • October 24 - South Africa vs B1 (Winner of Group B); Bellerive Oval, Hobart - 1.30 pm IST
  • October 27 - South Africa vs Bangladesh; Sydney Cricket Ground; Sydney - 8.30 am IST
  • October 30 - South Africa vs India; Perth Stadium, Perth - 4.30 pm IST
  • November 3 - South Africa vs Pakistan; Sydney Cricket Ground; Sydney - 1.30 pm IST
  • November 6 - South Africa vs A2 (runner-up of Group A); Adelaide Oval, Adelaide - 5.30 am IST

Format of the T20 World Cup 2022:

Before the Super 12 round, the tournament will start on October 16 with the preliminary qualifying round, which also includes two-time champions West Indies, and another former champion and the recently crowned Asia Cup winner, Sri Lanka.

In the preliminary round, 8 teams will compete in two groups of 4 each. Four teams - top two from each group - will proceed to the Super 12, joining the other 8 teams who have already qualified.

In Super 12, the teams are divided into two groups of 6 each, with the top two from each group making it to the semi-final. The final will be played at the MCG on November 13.

Preliminary Qualifier Groups:

Group A: Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates

Group B: Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe

Super 12 groups:

Group 1: Australia, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, B1, A2