Ashish Nehra Names His India Squad For The T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Home
  2. Trending

Ashish Nehra Names His India Squad For The T20 World Cup 2022

Ashish Nehra

With the Indian cricket team's campaign in the ongoing Asia Cup 2022, all the attention has already turned to the upcoming T20 World cup 2022. Last year, the Men in Blue crashed out of the Super 12 stage and endured an embarrassing journey. Led by Rohit Sharma in this year's tournament, the Indian cricket team will be aiming for a better performance this time. 

Meanwhile, former Indian cricketer Ashish Nehra decided to share his predicted Indian squad for the upcoming marque tournament, however, he has surprisingly left out Deepak Chahar and Mohammad Shami. 

Speaking on the ICC Review, Ashish Nehra picked KL Rahul as the opener of the team along with Indian captain Rohit Sharma. He said:  "We still have a long way to go as far as the T20 World Cup is concerned, so I think we will see a lot from KL Rahul in the next six games",

Ashish Nehra
Image Source - Twitter

Further, the former pacer went on to pick Virat Kohli as his number 3 and SKY at no. 4 or 5. He said: "SKY should be in the eleven because you then have an alternative to Rishabh Pant. You can swap the two—on 4 or 5,".

After Suryakumar Yadav, Ashish Nehra picked  Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja as his no.5 and 6 respectively. In the bowling department, Ashish Nehra noted the importance of spinners and then named Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, and Jasprit Bumrah as his pacers. He said: "Not only Chahal and Jadeja are important, even Ravi Ashwin is also important. Even if he plays, he can make an impact"

He added: "One name, however, comes in my mind and that is Mohammed Shami. Being a Test specialist, he hasn’t attracted that much focus from the selectors. And I am not saying this because I saw him up and close in Gujarat Titans"

Ashish Nehra's 15-man India Squad for T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dinesh Karthik, Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda.