Asia Cup Final: Here’s Why Indian Fans Were Not Allowed To Enter The Stadium

  1. Home
  2. Trending

Asia Cup Final: Here’s Why Indian Fans Were Not Allowed To Enter The Stadium

Asia Cup 2022

In a sensational and shocking incident in Dubai, it has been alleged that Indian fans were not allowed to enter the Dubai International Cricket Stadium to watch the Sri Lanka-Pakistan Asia Cup 2022 final.

The finale of the continental tournament kicked off on Sunday evening, and soon after that The Bharat Army (Team India Supporters Group) Twitter handle posted a video including some of the Indian fans who said that security personnel at the stadium not only barred them from entering the stands but also pushed them

A person spoke in the video narrating their shocking incident, “The issue is as an Indian fan we were not allowed inside the stadium, which is kind of weird. We were literally asked to leave because we were wearing Indian jersey.”

Fans not allowed to watch the final wearing India jersey

Another person in the video alleged that the cops were pushing them and said “India Go Out, Go Back”. The lady stated that it seems that they will have to wear either a Sri Lanka or Pakistan jersey to enter the stadium.

“SHOCKING TREATMENT as The Bharat Army and other Indian Cricket Fans told they can not enter the stadium wearing ‘India jerseys’!” Bharat Army tweeted.

You can watch the video here:

The Bharat Army also urged the ICC and the ACC to look into this pathetic behaviour by the security.

“The @icc & @ACCMedia1 we urge you to investigate as our members travelled all they way from India to watch the #AsiaCup2022 and have been told they can’t enter the stadium by local officials and the police! Absolutely shocking treatment!,” the Bharat Army account tweeted.

Defending champions and firm favourites once again, India were eliminated from the Super 4 stage, failing to reach the final after their losses to Pakistan and Sri Lanka. 

Here is how fans reacted to this news and allegations:






Pakistan win toss and elect to bowl first

Pakistan captain Babar Azam has won the toss and, expectedly, elected to bowl first. This is a big plus for Pakistan already as not only the Dubai pitch and conditions heavily favour the chasing team, but their opponents tonight in the final, Sri Lanka, have a much better recent record while chasing instead of batting first. 

Sri Lanka will now have to put an above-par score to give any sort of concern to Pakistan. And even Sri Lanka had defeated Pakistan in the Super 4 match two days ago, defending in the final is another thing; in that game couple of nights ago, Pakistan had rested Shadab Khan and Naseem Shah, both of whom now come back in the line-up replacing Usman Qadir and Hasan Ali. Sri Lanka have gone with the same side that thrashed the Men In Green on Friday.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Pramod Madushan, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka

Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Hasnain