Dinesh Karthik Wrote A Heartfelt Tweet After His Selection In India's Squad For T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Home
  2. Trending

Dinesh Karthik Wrote A Heartfelt Tweet After His Selection In India's Squad For T20 World Cup 2022

Dinesh Karthik

India's veteran keeper-batter Dinesh Karthik was indeed a happy man after he was picked in the Indian cricket team for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, next month. His fairytale year 2022 just keeps getting better and better. 

On Monday, after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced much-awaited India’s T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Dinesh Karthik couldn't hide back his emotions after being named in India's roster. Interestingly, DK was a part of the t20 team which won the inaugural World Cup back in 2007 under the captaincy of legendary skipper MS Dhoni and 15-years later, the 37-year-old is still going strong.

After India's squad announcement, DK took to his social media and expressed his emotions. He wrote: "Dreams do come true 💙"

Check out the Tweet:

Indeed, it has been nothing less than a dream for Dinesh Karthik, who made his comeback to the national team earlier this year for the home T20I series against South Africa in June after some inspiring performances with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League. Karthik had not played any international cricket before that series since India's 2019 World Cup semi-final defeat to New Zealand.

Meanwhile, Karthik is one of two wicket-keeper batters in the Indian side alongwith Rishabh Pant. The squad also marks the return of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, both the cricketers who were ruled out of the recently-concluded Asia Cup 2022, because of injury issues. While Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the squad, Axar Patel has been named as his replacement.

India’s squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players - Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar