EXPLAINED: Here's Why SA20 League Is Called Mini IPL

  1. Home
  2. Trending

EXPLAINED: Here's Why SA20 League Is Called Mini IPL


The first-ever player auction for the SA20, which is Cricket South Africa’s franchise T20 league, took place on Monday in Cape Town with young 22-old batter Tristan Stubbs cashing the biggest payday - Rand 9.2 million (USD 520,000 approx.) by Sunrisers Eastern Cape.

There were other big signings made at the auction table on Monday for the SA20. The inaugural edition of the league is slated to be played in January 2023.

Why are fans calling the SA20 a Mini-IPL?

Six teams will compete in the first edition of the SA20. Interestingly, all the 6 teams are bought by IPL owners! Yes, and that is the reason why the fans are labelling SA20 as Mini-IPL.

Six of the 10 franchises in the IPL now have teams in South Africa’s biggest T20 league, which has made this tournament all the more attractive for broadcasters as the involvement of IPL owners, and connection with a number of players of the teams, will fetch many Indian viewers to watch SA20.

SA20 League
Image Source - Republic World

Which IPL owners have bought the 6 teams in SA20?

The owners of the Mumbai Indians bought the Cape Town team, naming it MI Cape Town

The Lucknow Super Giants owners bought the Durban team, Durban Super Giants

The Gqeberha [formerly Port Elizabeth] team was sold to the owners of Sunrisers Hyderabad, Sunrisers Eastern Cape

The owners of Rajasthan Royals bagged the team based in Paarl - Paarl Royals

JSW Sports, the co-owners of Delhi Capitals, bought the Pretoria side - Pretoria Capitals

And Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited roped in the Johannesburg franchise - Jo’burg Super Kings

All the teams had picked 4 players before the auction, and completed their 17-man squads on Monday.

Here are the final squads of all 6 teams in SA20:

Durban Super Giants: Quinton de Kock, Prenelan Subrayen, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley, Dwaine Pretorius, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Abbott, Junior Dala, Dilshan Madushanka, Johnson Charles, Matthew Breetzke, Christiaan Jonker, Wiaan Mulder, Simon Harmer

Jo’burg Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Gerald Coetzee, Maheesh Theekshana, Romario Shepherd, Harry Brook, Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, George Garton, Alzarri Joseph, Leus du Plooy, Lewis Gregory, Lizaad Williams, Donavon Ferreira, Nandre Burger, Malusi Siboto, Caleb Seleka

MI Cape Town: Kagiso Rabada, Dewald Brevis, Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Rassie van der Dussen, Ryan Rickelton, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Delano Potgieter, Grant Roelofsen, Wesley Marshall, Olly Stone, Waqar Salamkheil, Ziyaad Abharams, Odean Smith

Paarl Royals: David Miller, Corbin Bosch, Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jason Roy, Dane Vilas, Bjorn Fortuin, Wihan Lubbe, Ferisco Adams, Imraan Manack, Evan Jones, Ramon Simmonds, Mitchell van Buuren, Eoin Morgan, Codi Yusuf

Pretoria Capitals: Anrich Nortje, Migael Pretorius, Rilee Rossouw, Phil Salt, Wayne Parnell, Josh Little, Shaun von Berg, Adil Rashid, Cameron Delport, Will Jacks, Theunis de Bruyn, Marco Marais, Phil Salt, Kusal Mendis, Daryn Dupavillon, Jimmy Neesham, Eathan Bosch, Shane Dadswell

Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Junaid Dawood, Mason Crane, JJ Smuts, Jordan Cox, Adam Rossington, Roelof van der Merwe, Marques Ackerman, James Fuller, Tom Abell, Aya Gqamane, Sarel Erwee, Brydon Carse