No Place For Samson And Shami In India’s Squad For The T20 World Cup 2022

  1. Home
  2. Trending

No Place For Samson And Shami In India’s Squad For The T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022

With the successful completion of the Asia Cup 2022, all the focus has now shifted to the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022. On Monday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) finally announced much-awaited India’s T20 World Cup 2022 Squad as the deadline was approaching for the same. The high-voltage tournament is all set to kickstart next month. The tournament will commence on October 16 with the qualifier matches and the T20 World Cup 2022 final will take place on November 13. A total of 45 games will be played during the 2022 edition of the marque event, which will be hosted by Australia. 

The Indian cricket team will kickstart their opening match of the T20 World Cup 2022 on October 23 against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. India is part of Group 2 with teams like Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh in their pool.

T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source - Hindustan Times

Meanwhile, on Monday, the BCCI via their official Twitter handle made a big announcement as they revealed India's squad for the T20 World Cup 2022. While the top-3 batters -- Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli -- are back again. The squad also marked the return of Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, both the cricketers who were ruled out of the recently-concluded Asia Cup 2022, because of injury issues. 

Besides this, a few notables in the squad is the absence of Sanju Samson, who has once again failed to find a place both in the squad and in the reserves as well. Mohammed Shami has been picked as the stand-by player along with Ravi Bishnoi, who recently impressed everyone with his bowling variations. While Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the squad, Axar Patel has been named as his replacement.

Mohammed Shami
Image Source - TOI

India’s squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players - Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar