"What Rohit Sharma did was...": Robin Uthappa Made A Big Statement On 1st T20I Incident Between Rohit And DK
The Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team suffered a four-wicket defeat at the hands of Australia in the first T20I match in Mohali on Tuesday. Team India scored 208 runs after being asked to bat first, riding on the stellar knock of KL Rahul followed by Hardik Pandya's blitzkrieg of 71* in 30 deliveries.
However, due to an underwhelming bowling performance by team India, the Australian side managed to chase down the required target with ease. Cameron Green played a stunning knock of 30-ball 61-run, giving the visitors a spectacular start. Matthew Wade also played the role of a finisher, scoring an unbeaten 45-run knock to seal the contest.
While there were a lot of talking points in the game, however, the moment that stole all the attention happened between Dinesh Karthik and Rohit Sharma. Well, a hilarious incident took place during Glenn Maxwell's dismissal. It happened after wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik completed the catch from behind the stumps as the Australian batter nicked the ball, however, he didn't appeal for the same as he wasn't too sure whether there was an edge.
But Indian captain Rohit Sharma was adamant and decided to go for DRS with ruled Maxwell out. Afterward, Rohit was seen playfully grabbing DK by his neck.
The incident went viral all over social media and became a hot-topic of discussion. During the post-match discussion on Star Sports, Robin Uthappa talked about it and he had a rather interesting take on it. He said:
"Sometimes, Dinesh becomes a bit too relaxed. If he knows the batsman is out, he becomes relaxed. But what Rohit Sharma did was good, he warned him, he told him to at least appeal"
Meanwhile, the attention has now switched to the second T20I match which is going to be a do-or-die match for Team India in M=Nagpur if they are to make a comeback in the series.