Watch: Steve Smith Smashed A Six And Then Tells The Umpires That It Is A No-Ball!

  1. Home
  2. Trending

Watch: Steve Smith Smashed A Six And Then Tells The Umpires That It Is A No-Ball!

Steve Smith


Steve Smith is perhaps the most meticulous batsman you would come across. His eye for detail and presence of mind on the field is second to none. The same was on display on Sunday when the batter took it upon himself to tell the umpires of a no-ball!

In the third ODI of the series against New Zealand, at the Cazaly’s Stadium, Cairns, Steve Smith brought out his best with the bat and notched up a century on a surface that was difficult to bat on, his first ODI ton in over two years.

Steve Smith showcases his great presence of mind

During this century, when he was on 69 in the 38th over of Australia’s innings, Smith, uncharacteristically and out of nowhere, slogged James Neesham for a six over deep mid-wicket. His unusual biff surprised everyone, however, in a matter of a few seconds it was clear why Smith took the aerial root.

Steve Smith
Image Source - Twitter

Just after hitting his shot, Smith straightaway turned toward the square-leg umpire and signalled for a free-hit telling him that it was a no-ball because only four fielders were inside the circle instead of five. (The rules in ODIs allow a maximum of 4 fielders outside the circle for overs 11-40 after which in the last 10 overs only 5 fielders can be in the deep).

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson had made a blunder by having an extra fielder than permitted outside the circle. What perhaps nobody noticed, Smith did, proving he’s analyzing every movement of his opposition.

The commentators hailed Smith's game awareness and also burst into laughter as Smith was animatedly pointing out the only 4 fielders in the circle to the square leg umpire.

Cricket Australia then uploaded the video of this now-famous incident involving Steve Smith:


Steve Smith ended the ODI series against the Kiwis on a high note, scoring 105 runs off 131 balls helping the hosts post 267. Australia had taken an unassailable 2-0 lead and this century from Smith, on a two-paced deck, further grew his stature and legacy in ODI cricket.

"Had to take our time early, to give ourselves a chance and build a partnership. I was just batting simply early on, and didn't think too much about it. And when I decided to take more of a chance, I was hitting with the wind. I think we have a strong total on the board," Smith said in the innings break.