1. Home
  2. Trending

Chetan Sharma Retained As The Chairman Of Selectors

Chetan Sharma Retained As The Chairman Of Selectors

Former Indian cricketer Chetan Sharma, who was the head of the BCCI selection committee for the men's cricket team from December 2020 till late last year, has been reappointed as the chief selector, according to a BCCI statement on Saturday. Other selectors in the panel are Sridharan Sharath from South Zone, Shiv Sundar Das from Central Zone, Subroto Banerjee from the East, and Salil Ankola from West Zone.

The new committee has been picked the Cricket Advisory Committee comprising Ashok Malhotra, Jatin Paranjape, and Sulakshana Naik. In its official statement, the BCCI revealed that it received around 600 applications for the vacant post. The list was pruned and 11 candidates were shortlisted for the interview by CAC. 

Chetan Sharma To Continue As Chairman Of BCCI Selection Committee, New  Panel Named | Cricket News

"The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Ms Sulakshana Naik, Mr Ashok Malhotra, and Mr Jatin Paranjape undertook an extensive process for selecting members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee. The Board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18th November 2022," the BCCI statement said.

"Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the Committee has recommended the following candidates for the Senior Men's National Selection Committee. 1) Chetan Sharma 2) Shiv Sundar Das 3) Subroto Banerjee 4) Salil Ankola 5) Sridharan Sharath

"The committee further recommended Mr Chetan Sharma for the role of Chairman of the senior men's selection committee." the statement added.

Talking about the members of the selection panel, Salil Ankola is the former chief selector of the Mumbai cricket team. He has played 20 ODIs and 1 Test match between 1989 to 1997. He made his Test debut along with Sachin Tendulkar against Pakistan in 1989. 

Shiv Sundar Das is a domestic cricket veteran. He has played 23 Tests and scored 1326 runs. he also donned 4 ODI caps. Das finished his domestic career with  10908 runs in 180 matches. He has also worked with the Indian women's team as the batting coach.

Subroto Banerjee made his debut for the Indian cricket team in 1991 and his Test debut in 1992 against Australia. He played 1 Test and 6 ODIs. In domestic cricket, he scalped 135 wickets in 59 first-class matches and dismissed 54 batsmen in 49 List-A matches.

Sridharan Sharath, who is a domestic cricket giant, remained uncapped in international cricket. However, he was a mainstay for Tamil Nadu in domestic cricket. Sharath scored 8700 runs in 139 matches at a solid average of 51.17.