1. Home
  2. Trending

Hardik Pandya Reacts To Arshdeep Singh’s 5 No-Balls

Hardik Pandya Reacts To Arshdeep Singh’s 5 No-Balls

It was a disastrous, forgettable comeback to international cricket for Arshdeep Singh in the second T20I against Sri Lanka as he went for 37 runs in only 2 overs, including bowling 5 no-balls! He even got a wicket on one of these no-balls!

This proved very costly for India as blistering half-centuries from Kusal Mendis at the top of the order and finisher Dasun Shanaka powered Sri Lanka to a giant total of 206/6 in Pune.

Arshdeep had missed the first T20I, in Mumbai, due to illness, and before that he had been rested from the Bangladesh tour. He hadn’t played any cricket for more than month, and was rusty, which showed in the 5 no-balls, plus some poor lines from the young left-arm pacer, who not too long ago, was spearheading India’s bowling attack in Australia at the T20 World Cup 2022.

Arshdeep’s first over, the second of the match, had gone for 19 runs and was removed from the attack. He was recalled to bowl the 19th over, the penultimate one, by skipper Hardik Pandya, who was made to rue his decision as he himself also had 2 overs left.

In the 19th over, Arshdeep dismissed - as it initially felt - Dasun Shanaka, a low full toss caught down at long-on by Suryakumar Yadav. However, within seconds, the umpire signaled a no-ball and the siren for the no-ball went around the ground, bringing an end to the celebrations of the Pune crowd and the Indian fielders, as Shanaka was told to continue with his innings.

This was Arshdeep's fourth no-ball of the innings, and, the pain of not getting Shanaka out, after he had been out, left captain Hardik Pandya in frustration as he covered his face with his hands in dismay.

The video of Hardik Pandya's reaction to Arshdeep Singh's no-balls has gone viral:


Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

India (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan(w), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Rahul Tripathi, Hardik Pandya(c), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shivam Mavi, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal